New call-to-action
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: "Best" way to work with SQL DB from Alpha?

  1. #1
    Former Alpha Employee mheller's Avatar
    Real Name
    Martin Heller
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Andover, MA
    Posts
    261

    Default "Best" way to work with SQL DB from Alpha?

    Like Perl, Alpha 5 has many ways to accomplish a given task. I'm trying to understand the trade-offs involved in working with SQL databases using:
    • Active Link tables
    • Passive Link tables
    • AlphaDAO
    • ADO

    Considerations would include:
    • Ease of development
    • Runtime performance
    • Maintainability
    • Scalability


    Any wisdom to share?
    Last edited by mheller; 07-16-2008 at 03:37 PM.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: "Best" way to work with SQL DB from Alpha?

    Hi Martin,

    It seems a shame that nobody has ventured to answer your question "Any wisdom to share"?

    Your question is too broad to be answered simply, here.

    The idea of the forum is to help each other with particular technical problems.

    With regards to:
    • Ease of development
      Runtime performance
      Maintainability
      Scalability

    I would say YES.

    However, I would suggest that your question would best be directed towards the sales team at Alpha.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  3. #3
    Former Alpha Employee mheller's Avatar
    Real Name
    Martin Heller
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Andover, MA
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: "Best" way to work with SQL DB from Alpha?

    Thanks, Keith.

    Yes, it's the sort of question that should ideally be answered in the Alpha documentation. AFAIK, it hasn't been. I couldn't find anything in the forum archives, either.

    I was hoping that some of the Alpha consultants here had opinions on the matter based on their own experience. It wasn't something I wanted to bother Selwyn about right now, since I know he's working hard on some new functionality.

Similar Threads

  1. form.view("fName","","","center","center")
    By reynolditpi in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 11:37 PM
  2. "Add" and "Save" buttons don't stay on "Self" page
    By Scholin in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 07:50 AM
  3. M/S SQL 2000 and "Attach SQL Table"
    By Kevin Benett in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2003, 04:39 AM
  4. ODBC connect to Oracle - "SQL Table"
    By William Perry in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2000, 10:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •