Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: tables not refreshing

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Derek Caldwell
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default tables not refreshing

    When I try and refresh tables in QuickBooks I get the following message:

    Could not create ResultSet from DataSource definition.

    Could not connect to Database. Error reported was:

    Internal Error - Can't find named connection
    'QuickBooks_CurrentlyOpenFile' - while converting named connection to connection string


    I have made sure my ODBC connection points to the correct qbw file and that the file is open while using QReportBuilder. And the only connection string I currently have in my QReport project points to the correct qbw file.

    Any ideas as to what is happening?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    Derek,
    You say that you have the datasource definition pointing to the correct Quickbooks company file.....but the error suggests that QRB is looking for the currently open file so something is amiss. Regardless if you have to have the company file hard coded into the datasource definition, replace it for now with "." which will default to the currently open Quickbooks company. If that works then we can continue figuring out the problem from there.....

    Also, start fresh before doing anything---that is, close both Quickbooks and QRB and also go into task manager and end all processes related to either (or just reboot your OS).
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  3. #3
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,581

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    Quote Originally Posted by derekcaldwell View Post

    Internal Error - Can't find named connection
    'QuickBooks_CurrentlyOpenFile' - while converting named connection to connection string


    Any ideas as to what is happening?
    To add to the good advice from Mike, another idea to try is to create a new project and work from the new project.

    The error message indicates that the connection string was changed somehow..

    Also, look at the connection string vs how QB opens the file. Sometimes I've seen a mapped drive ( D:/mycompanyfile.qbw) vs a UNC ( \\server\mycompanyfile.qbw) - that will be interpreted as 2 different company files.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Derek Caldwell
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    I tried all of the advice but nothing changed. I've attached a Word document with screen shots. The first two screens are my connection string info. And the third screen is the table info after trying to refresh.

    Comments?

    Thanks for your help,

    Derek

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,581

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    Quote Originally Posted by derekcaldwell View Post
    I tried all of the advice but nothing changed. I've attached a Word document with screen shots. The first two screens are my connection string info. And the third screen is the table info after trying to refresh.

    Comments?

    Thanks for your help,

    Derek
    Derek

    Are you changing the connection string from "Quickbooks_CurrentlyOpenFile" to "Serimax"?
    If you are not changing it, I'd like to know what steps you are taking that result in it changing. That's why I suggested a new project. A new project should start with a single connection string "Quickbooks_CurrentlyOpenFile". If it doesn't please let me know that too..

    You can have multiple connection strings in a single project. But I typically leave the "Quickbooks_CurrentlyOpenFile" and add more to it rather than replace it. All of the existing tables in QRB use the "Quickbooks_CurrentlyOpenFile" connection string so it needs to be there.

    I see that you have a balance sheet that successfully refreshed. Did you add that? And did you add/replace a connection string in that process?

    Maybe you should attend our weekly webinar on Thursday morning at 9 am Central. We can look at this and figure out what is happening..

    http://www.bookwood.com/QReportBuildertraining.html
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Derek Caldwell
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    Thanks Al that seemed to work. However, it is still really slow and I've got to kick the users out anytime I need to refresh the tables. I'm thinking about just always referencing a backup file and use that for reporting against. We don't need Real Time reporting and everything can pretty much wait a day. So I'll make a daily copy and use that and refresh once every morning for reporting purposes. Does this sound like a option?

    Regards,

    Derek

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    Derek,
    If all the tables have to be refreshed then most times do as you are doing or even let it run overnight when your files get so big that the time it takes interferes with daily work. I want to point out that if only some of the tables are used for your reports, then only refresh those. If you still need to reduce the time for refreshing then there are more advanced ways to do so, mostly by only bringing over the data needed, whether it be via a date range, specific fields or rows, other possible filters that can be applied before the data is transferred over to the QRB tables. You mentioned a backup file for reporting?? The QRB tables represent whatever data is brought over when refreshed and remain there unchanged until the next refresh...I guess I don't understand the reasoning behind having the reports based on a backup file.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Derek Caldwell
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    By back-up I mean copying a version of the qbw file everynight. Then basing all my reports off that copied file. So I never have to involve kicking users off to refresh cus there will never be any users because it's copied.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,581

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    Quote Originally Posted by derekcaldwell View Post
    By back-up I mean copying a version of the qbw file everynight. Then basing all my reports off that copied file. So I never have to involve kicking users off to refresh cus there will never be any users because it's copied.
    Derek

    Let's talk during the Thursday webinar and get some details. We'll show you a couple of strategies to use..
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    David Gutierrez
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    Al,

    Turning off the QODBC driver status panel worked. Having any of the other panel displays checked was okay, but the QBDBC driver status panel froze QBR. Thanks for solving my refresh passive links problem.

    Dave

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,581

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveGutie View Post
    Al,

    Turning off the QODBC driver status panel worked. Having any of the other panel displays checked was okay, but the QBDBC driver status panel froze QBR. Thanks for solving my refresh passive links problem.

    Dave
    Dave

    Glad to hear that solved the issue. A permanent solution will be available in the next version.

    I like the driver status panel and it can be used in this version if you refresh data and not have the other dialog box appear. This can be done by making an action script to refresh the tables and have it run silently. (That is silently from the Alpha 5 side). The QODBC driver status doesn't play by that silent flag, so it will continue to operate.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,581

    Default Re: tables not refreshing

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Buchholz View Post
    Derek

    Let's talk during the Thursday webinar and get some details. We'll show you a couple of strategies to use..
    During the Thursday webinar, we looked at Derek's system and found that the integrated application within QB was causing a problem.

    The solution was to login into QB as admin and re-establish the integrated app.

    The easiest way is to delete the current connection and make a new one. It takes about 30 seconds to do that..
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. refreshing shadow
    By martinwcole in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-11-2006, 12:30 PM
  2. component refreshing?
    By Duane Pederson in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-12-2005, 01:10 PM
  3. Refreshing A Field
    By Jim Cannon in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-17-2004, 03:49 PM
  4. Refreshing database
    By dchiass in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2004, 09:03 AM
  5. Refreshing Browses
    By tlyon in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-2000, 04:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •