Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Google QR Code on Report

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Wayne Ward
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default Google QR Code on Report

    I need help getting and placing a Google qr codes on a Qreportbuilder report or Alpha 5 v9. report

    1. I was able to setup a supercontrol to acquire the code and place on a form (png image)
    but the supercontrol gave me 3 or 4 script error messages before showing the image. Can this be fixed?

    2. Once I have the image on the form using a supercontrol can that image be placed on a report and if so how?

    3. Finally I would prefer not to have the qr code on the form as the variables to produce the qr code can be collected from the fields in a report is this possible?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Google QR Code on Report

    Wayne,
    I am not certain about using the supercontrol on a v9 report but seeing as the current QReportBuilder is still based on v8 I doubt it will work there. Maybe someone else can answer the other questions as I do not have v9.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Wayne Ward
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Google QR Code on Report

    Hi Mike
    I have v8 as well, I would think you could auto generate a URL from certain
    fields and then fetch the qr code from google chart. Once the qr code is created the image could be saved (taken from the web page) to a field on a form or report. This is just my logic I have no idea how to do this.
    Thank you Mike for your reply, if this additional information helps you think of how his could be done let me know.
    http://chart.apis.google.com/chart?cht=qr&chs=200x200&chl=Thank%20you (this ia a text only qr code saying: Thank you)
    I want to use qr codes like this for my field crew to manage task progress and time cards. I would like to locate the Codes on work orders (Quickbooks) that will be scanned at the beginning and end of a task, the qr code information is then sent to the office via sms and entered into a database.
    Any help would be much appreciated,

    Regards

    Wayne

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
    Wayne,
    I am not certain about using the supercontrol on a v9 report but seeing as the current QReportBuilder is still based on v8 I doubt it will work there. Maybe someone else can answer the other questions as I do not have v9.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Wayne Ward
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Google QR Code on Report

    I'm sorry

    Here is a sms qr code for Thank you http://chart.apis.google.com/chart?c...55:Thank%20you
    This code can be read by a qr code reader from your cell phone just search internet for the one that works with your phone

    Regards

    Wayne

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Google QR Code on Report

    Hi Wayne,
    I misread just a bit. For question 2, if it is just an image you want on a report that is already saved, then relate the image to whatever record you call up in the report and use that relationship to acquire the correct image. Jerry Brightbill showed an example of this utilizing an Excel file on the messageboard that shows one process to achieve this.

    Regarding the other questions, others will have to chime in as am unfamiliar and am working with v8 so do not have supercontrols to work with.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




Similar Threads

  1. Using Google Analytics with WAS
    By Rick Gerlach in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-27-2008, 01:53 AM
  2. Google indexing
    By Antony in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-03-2008, 03:31 AM
  3. google
    By Shelly in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-22-2007, 08:03 PM
  4. What is Google-Analytics?
    By DickJames in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-25-2007, 07:36 AM
  5. Google Example
    By jkukuda in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-18-2005, 07:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •