Alpha Video Training

Thread: Connect to QBOE

Real Name
    Ruth Courtnell

Default Connect to QBOE

Below please find my post and a response from a related forum. I have been told by Mark of FLEXquarters that the ability of QReportBuilder to successfully work with QuickBooks online edition is in the works. I was hoping that this beta version would work, but it seems not quite.

"I have installed the qodbcup.exe and can actually connect to QBOE from QReportBuilder for the first time in the evaluation version.

However, on the initial refresh data attempt this error appears:

In a5_qrb_generic Function []:Unexpected error in function Generate Native Syntax

I am not a developer, but just a person trying to evaluate QReportBuilder with a connection to the online edition of QB. I hope that my feedback is useful and that I am not in the wrong place to find/send this information. Thanks."

Reply:
    "Thanks for the info. The error appears to be from QReportBuilder and not QODBC, please post your findings in the QReportBuilder Forum found at: http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...splay.php?f=59"

Real Name
    Alan Buchholz

Default Re: Connect to QBOE

if you edit your connection string to include the keyword A5Syntax and a value of QuickBooks you should be able to work past the error.

{A5API=QuickBooksOnline,A5Syntax=QuickBooks,…}

Let us know if that fixes it

Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Real Name
    Ruth Courtnell

Okay, I did that.

{A5API=QuickBooksOnline,A5Syntax=QuickBooks,A5ConnectionKey='********',A5LoginKey='********',A5Prompt=No}

test connection=success