Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Report Printing

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Matranga
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130

    Default Report Printing

    I posted a thread questioning how to filter records through the print genie in the after validate event.

    I have a Report No. field based on five characters, i.e. 00001, 00002 etc.

    I have created a dialog with a print report button and used the Genie to print the reports to a PDF file.

    How do I build an expression that prompts the user upon clicking the print report button to enter a report no. What I want to do, for example, is as follows:

    ReportNo = [Prompt: 'ReportNo']

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator drgarytraub's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dr. Gary Traub
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Boca Raton, FL
    Posts
    2,772

    Default Re: Report Printing

    Why not just put another field on the dialog for the number that the user needs to input. You could even set this as a drop down that will give them a choice of valid numbers. Then the user just clicks submit to produce the report filtered on that number.

    However, to get the report filtered, you need to capture the field to a global variable, and then use that global variable in the report definition in the filter of that report.

    Gary

  3. #3
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default Re: Report Printing

    Alpha Five Version 9 includes a sample application called "Simple Web Contact Manager". It includes a web page showing how to select values from a dropdown or radio control and add the selected value to a report filter.

    The Database & Tasks tab on Welcome Screen for Alpha Five has an option for "Sample and tutorial databases...." Just select the application from the list and examine the dialog named "dlg_report" after a local copy of the application is created.

    If you are building a dialog, you can use the "Print Report" genie from the Insert button in the AfterValidate event to create variables and build a report using the variables in the filter. As the sample above shows, you can then set the value of the variable to a value in a control.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Matranga
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: Report Printing

    Thanks Guys,

    Appreciate your help.

    I am sure I will be able to resolve the issue with your suggestions.

    SteveM.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,070

    Default Re: Report Printing

    Check out the web application samples that ship with Alpha5

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    john linley
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    englewood cliffs, nj
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Report Printing

    A5V9 PRINT ISSUE

    Would like to print a report from an invoice set, invoice header linked to sales.

    My print button uses "record in focus" as a first choice. However, it prints all child records using just this feature. The child records include paid and unpaid invoices.

    Paid invoices have a char field with a value of "P" if the record has been paid. Would like to exclude these records from the report using an expression ( Paid<>"P" )

    I cannot find where I should enter this expression after choosing "record in focus". I would like this filter to be a permanent addition in my print routine.

    My report works fine but I really need to filter out what is usually about 80% of the records. 1000 + statements will print much faster and on less paper if I can accomplish this.

    Hope this is possible in one fashion or another.

    john linley

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    john linley
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    englewood cliffs, nj
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: button on form to print a report?

    I have placed a button on an (accounts receivable form) to print a report that prints the record in focus ( cust_list->cust_id, a parent field}

    I would like the action scripting button to not only print the record in focus but also to filter out records in the child table that have been paid and are marked as paid in a child char field 'paid' .

    The set structure is: "cust_list" linked one to many with the table "sales"

    A separate button on this form prints the entire aging schedule for all accounts and is working fine.

    In the action scripting button, I have not been able to do both.. That is,
    choose the 'parent' record that has focus and also enter the child filter
    paid <>"P"

    Th script genie allows a second selection, but I would much prefer it to be
    part of the action scripting button.

    Any help from any of you 'learned' gentlemen will be much appreciated.

    Thanks in advance,

    John Linley

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    john linley
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    englewood cliffs, nj
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: button on form to print a report?

    ATTN: Keith Hubert

    The solution to the question above turned out to be quite similar to the "printing multiple checks" solution you provided earlier. Why I failed to recognize that this problem is similar and realize it sooner, I can't fathom. Perhaps my mind is no longer working on all cylinders. Anyway, thanks again for your invaluable assistance. Kindest regards, hope all is well.

    John Linley

Similar Threads

  1. Report not printing
    By megand in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-07-2007, 11:08 AM
  2. Printing Report
    By johnm in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-27-2006, 06:32 AM
  3. Report printing twice
    By Peter Wade-Graham in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2005, 03:14 PM
  4. Report Printing
    By Alan Anthony in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-11-2003, 04:36 PM
  5. Report Printing
    By JOE FIORICA in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2002, 08:37 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •