Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: A5V9 Runtime License Requested

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    165

    Default A5V9 Runtime License Requested

    So, I just distributed an app in A5V9.

    The customer installed it but when executed, l it requested a runtime license #.

    While I provided mine, is this specific to Version 9 ?

    Is pricing and runtime distribution still an issue from some of the posts I read from earlier this year ?

    Thanks for anyone who pcan provide a bit of insight.

    Lar
    :confused:

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: A5V9 Runtime License Requested

    Quote Originally Posted by nuggetsoftware View Post
    So, I just distributed an app in A5V9.

    The customer installed it but when executed, l it requested a runtime license #.

    While I provided mine, is this specific to Version 9 ?

    Is pricing and runtime distribution still an issue from some of the posts I read from earlier this year ?

    Thanks for anyone who pcan provide a bit of insight.

    Lar
    What, exactly, do you have? I installed A5v9 RT on my computer at work and I did not need a run time license. I've had the RT for A5v4, A5v4.5, A5v6, A5v7, A5v8 and A5v9 and I've never needed a license for it. That's the purpose of RT. The license is for the full version.

    kenn

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    165

    Default Re: A5V9 Runtime License Requested

    Ken,

    I agree. Never had this problem with any other version back through the old Alpha/4 days.

    Currently on: A5V9 Standard Build 1772 with System Addins: Build 3208.

    I copied the SETUP.EXE off to a thumb drive and installed on a desktop in the office. No license # requested.

    Puzzled in WV...

    Lar
    :confused:

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: A5V9 Runtime License Requested

    Is there still a problem?

    kenn

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Geoff Meredith
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    637

    Default Re: A5V9 Runtime License Requested

    Larry,

    Do you have the runtime or the rune engine? I believe the latter requires a license number to be entered and the former needs a user count unlock code. I'm not sure if things have changed as I know from the forum there have been issues with applying these codes.

    Alpha have the following on their website for the runtime.

    When you purchase the Alpha Five Runtime, you are issued with a "user count unlock code." The sole purpose of this code is to "unlock" the user count on the Runtime to the concurrent number of users you licensed when you purchased your Runtime license. The "user count unlock code" provides you with new flexibility, because it gives you the ability to add runtimes together to increase your concurrent user count. The "user count unlock code" is in turn provided by you to all your customers. You have complete control over the appearance of the dialog that prompts the user for the "user count unlock code." This dialog box is only displayed once - the first time the user runs your application.

  6. #6
    VAR
    Real Name
    Bill Parker
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,714

    Default Re: A5V9 Runtime License Requested

    I purchased the unlimited runtime/run engine for which Alpha recently announced new pricing. Originally it asked for a license #, and then also required activation. Then Alpha turned off the activation requirement in a more recent build, but the license # is still required for each workstation install.

    So I think this is different than the strictly runtime version.

    Bill.

Similar Threads

  1. runtime license
    By Ian_Edwards in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 09-18-2008, 06:11 PM
  2. A5V9 runtime on a A5V6 app.
    By rlgiordano in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2008, 12:22 PM
  3. A5V9 Runtime
    By Al Lipsky in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-30-2008, 06:57 PM
  4. Issue installing Report Mailer on A5v9 Runtime
    By Chris Donelon in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-23-2008, 12:17 PM
  5. Runtime License
    By tcausey in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-24-2008, 06:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •