Alpha Video Training
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dear Alpha Software: It's Time to Start Fresh

Real Name
    John Turner

Default Dear Alpha Software: It's Time to Start Fresh

An open letter to the Alpha Software Development Team:

In the beginning Alpha Five v1.0 couldn't match the flexibility, useability or speed of Alpha 4. As I watched Alpha Five grow from 1.0 to 5.0 I was still disappointed that it still couldn't do some of the things I was getting Alpha Four to do. And if my memory serves me even the programing paradigm of the early versions was different. Finally after all these years I have set aside my romantic desire for an easier (24x80 column screen) time and taken up the mantle of a WINDOWS PROGRAMER.

My choice of course was Alpha Five version 6.0 - I thought I had a head start because I had been programming since 1988 with Alpha Four, I had written over 20 different programs scattered all over Chicagoland all successfully working (with minor adjustments) from DOS and Windows 3.1 through XP. Now the big step into the wonderful world of event and object based programming. Surely, I thought, Alpha Software has beaten me there, done all the up-front work, worked out all the hassles - they had, at least, a 10 year head start.

By the time I actually started programming in Alpha Five (Oh! goody-goody) version 7 was out and I upgraded and tentively stuck my toes in the water. What optimism I had thinking of all the new frontiers I could conquer with a truly windows based programing language and environment.

Now after a year and a half trying my best to wrestle Alpha Five (now v8.0) to the ground I have come to a simple and unmistakable conclusion: Alpha Five needs to let go and Alpha Six needs to be started.