Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    7

    Default Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    I have been using Find by Key for many years. Suddenly, it does not offer me a choice of fields to search by. Just one field is there and no drop down box with the option to change the field. Please help. Thanks.
    Bob

    Sorry. Somehow posted this in the wrong forum. Can't see how to move it.
    Last edited by rweiss; 10-31-2008 at 04:06 PM. Reason: Posted in wrong forum

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default "Find by Key" now missing choice of fields

    Robert, Ctrl-K seems to work fine with the Customer form in AlphaSports. Use the "Search By" button to select a different primary index and search key. If that's not what you're looking for, tell us exactly how you trigger the find by key.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    While viewing a form, I can press either Ctrl-K or the Find by Key icon on the menu to get the Find by Key box to pappear. At the top is Search by: but it has one of my fields already there and no way to change it. This field used to be selectable by a drop down box.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    "Search by" is a button. It's not clear that you clicked it... did you?

    Did you try it with the Customer form in AlphaSports?

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Cone Jr View Post
    "Search by" is a button. It's not clear that you clicked it... did you?

    Did you try it with the Customer form in AlphaSports?
    Yes, I clicked the "Search by:" button. This used to produce a drop down box with a list of my fields, but now only offers me one field.

    Sorry, but I don't know what AlphaSports is. I'm using my own database which I have used for years -- since Alpha Four, in fact. Just can't figure out why this Search by field suddenly changed.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: "Find by Key" now missing choice of fields

    The find by key uses the defined indexes to create the list from which to choose. Are there more than one defined? Your index file may have become corrupted.
    Last edited by Stan Mathews; 10-31-2008 at 06:03 PM.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    Robert, the dialog that pops up to display alternate "search by" fields is sticky. You've probably changed the screen resolution so that the dialog is popping up "off screen" because of where you "left it" the last time you used it (before decreasing screen resolution). Increase the resolution of your display. Run the find by key again, then click Search By button and drag the dialog to a safe position. Then decrease screen resolution. Let us know if this solves the problem for you.

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: "Find by Key" now missing choice of fields

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    The find by key uses the defined indexes to create the list from which to choose. Are there more than one defined? You index file may have become corrupted.
    This makes sense. It is something I actually tried to look at before I posted this question. When I look at the Table/Set for this form, I found the list of indexes and there is only one there, but not even the one that is appearing in my Search by box. I tried to create another index with another field, but it still does not appear in the Search by box. I suspect this is the problem, but guess I cannot figure out how to set up indexes on all my fields. (I don't remember ever having to do this before.) I even ran the "Check Indexes . . ." utility and it reports no problems.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Cone Jr View Post
    Robert, the dialog that pops up to display alternate "search by" fields is sticky. You've probably changed the screen resolution so that the dialog is popping up "off screen" because of where you "left it" the last time you used it (before decreasing screen resolution). Increase the resolution of your display. Run the find by key again, then click Search By button and drag the dialog to a safe position. Then decrease screen resolution. Let us know if this solves the problem for you.
    I haven't changed my screen resolution and the same problem is ocurring on two different computers. I did try what you suggest, but have no success. I think this problem is related to possible missing or corrupt index files. I'm going to try to figure out how to rebuild them.

    Thanks for your time.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: "Find by Key" now missing choice of fields

    Quote Originally Posted by rweiss View Post
    This makes sense. It is something I actually tried to look at before I posted this question. When I look at the Table/Set for this form, I found the list of indexes and there is only one there, but not even the one that is appearing in my Search by box. I tried to create another index with another field, but it still does not appear in the Search by box. I suspect this is the problem, but guess I cannot figure out how to set up indexes on all my fields. (I don't remember ever having to do this before.) I even ran the "Check Indexes . . ." utility and it reports no problems.
    The check indexes utility tests the defined indexes. If some are missing it can't know that.

    Right click on the table name in the controlpanel tables/sets tab, choose Define Indexes, recreate those you need.

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    Well, I've tried to rebuild indexes, but this doesn't seem to help. But I'm not sure I'm building them correctly, as I have never had to do this before. I'll search the documentation to see if I can find instructions.

    However,
    I have several other databases setup in a similar fashion. I opened one of those and the "Find by Key" works just fine -- provides me with a "Search By:" button which then gives me an option to select a field. I looked at the indexes of this database and it does not show any! Now I'm really confused.

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Bostel
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    I am having this same exact problem. It is very aggravating. To make it worse if I go and create a button for "find by key" when I switch from design to from view to test it the search by button comes up. However when I exit the program and open it again the search by button is gone again....

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Bostel
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    I found out what my problem was! Check your order expression for when your form or browse opens. I had lastname in mine and that is all it would look for. The order expression has to be blank to get the "search by" option. Hope this helps.

  14. #14
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    Steve, thanks for posting your solution. It makes sense. When you embed a filter or order expression in the properties of your form Alpha won't let the end user change it.

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    Quote Originally Posted by scuba728 View Post
    I found out what my problem was! Check your order expression for when your form or browse opens. I had lastname in mine and that is all it would look for. The order expression has to be blank to get the "search by" option. Hope this helps.
    Well, this is certainly what determines the field that my "Find by Key" pulls up. But I am still unable to find where to let that box allow me to change the key. I found this Filter/Order option in the Form Properties when I go into "Design" on my form, but it appears that that is the field by which the forms are ordered, not filtered. There is a "Filter Expression" that I can set, and it is simply set so that the initial key is not blank. I tried to change the "Order Expression" to a variety of other fields, and those fields became the stuck key when I tried to "Find by Key." I then tried to change it to the first option which was Record Number (a system variable) and now I cannot change it back to anything else. For now, my workaround is to use Query by Form. Not quite as convenient as Find by Key, but does the job.

  16. #16
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    Robert, have you tried blanking both the filter and order expressions embedded in your form layout?


    Later on ...

    Robert, it's the presence of a filter expression in the properties of the form that changes the behavior of the find by key dialog. Suggest you remove the filter from the properties of the form if you want to search by other fields using ordinary indexes.

    If your app needs to be able to find records by a variety of search keys, but to also limit the search to a subset of all the records in the table, I fear you're going to have to use queries. After all, searches using compound keys are really queries, if you see what I mean. Find by Key is designed to find a single record anywhere in the table that contains a field value matching a single search key. Since that record may or may not meet your form's filter criteria, a search based on that single field is suppressed. Does this make sense?
    Last edited by Tom Cone Jr; 11-04-2008 at 06:25 PM.

  17. #17
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Bostel
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Find by Key now missing choice of fields

    I do not know how you open your form or browse but mine opened by clicking a button. I right clicked the button in design mode and selected EVENTS> ON PUSH. This displays the action taken when my button is pushed. I then selected edit action (action is open form or browse layout). When you hit next it gives you the option to to include an order expression. I do not remember putting on in but for some reason it was filled in. It must be blank. I have includes a couple screen shots.

Similar Threads

  1. missing "find by key" icon
    By oldtony in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-20-2006, 05:57 PM
  2. Choice fields - Add to List option no different
    By Steve Wood in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2006, 06:26 PM
  3. Missing Encryption Key
    By Rawlings in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-08-2005, 12:12 AM
  4. Find by key, using index built up on 2 fields
    By BDennis in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-23-2005, 05:27 AM
  5. Find by key button, or menu find key
    By Karen Crawford in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2003, 01:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •