Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    E. Z. Rider
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    123

    Default Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    Please notice the attached screen shot. The labels are not aligned vertically with the data in their respective fields. The label space is too high, and the label is in the lower half of the space. You can see this on the Web site:

    MedRiskScore

    The data is centered vertically, but the label is not. It looks all right in Preview but not in the browser.

    Does anybody know why?
    How do I fix this?
    Last edited by Easy Rider; 11-27-2008 at 08:11 AM. Reason: fix URL

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,070

    Default Re: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    That's because the preview uses Internet Explorer and you are viewing it in FireFox... Unfortunately they often interpret styles differently.

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,843

    Default Re: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    In Field Properties, go in to in-line style for both Cell and Lebel Properties; go to the Text tab and adjust Vertical same for both. Middle or Bottom, etc.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    E. Z. Rider
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    I tried setting both label and cell properties vertical alignment to "Middle", but it had no effect.

  5. #5
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,843

    Default Re: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    Attach the dialog to your post so we can test.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    E. Z. Rider
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    A dialog is attached. The only thing different about the field labels is that they are Right justified.

    Thanx for the help.

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,843

    Default Re: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    You've added html to your label. You have:
    HTML Code:
    <p align=right>Age: </p>
    That is not how you rigth justify a label. Instead go to in-line style and set Horizontal justification on the Text tab. the P tag is causing the wrap.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    E. Z. Rider
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    That works, but it's counterintuitive, since the Dialog builder lets you use an html editor to edit the label, and the dialog Builder put the <p /p> tags in. The panel for defining a field and its label allows you to Right justify labels. See screen shots attached.

    If the screen builder mishandles field labels, isn't that a bug?

    I was able to make the label Bold and the font larger in the html editor. When should I use the inline style option, and when use the Label editor?

    Thanx for the help,
    EZR
    Last edited by Easy Rider; 11-30-2008 at 06:13 PM.

  9. #9
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,843

    Default Re: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    You can use HTML in the label, you just have to use correct HTML. The closing P tag causes a new line in the browser. Alpha is properly interpreting that tag and putting in a new line, a new line that you don't want. Your code is right justifying your paragraph and then adding a new line, or margin really.

    HTML Code:
    <p>this text</p><p>that text</p>
    will appear like this in a browser:

    this text
    that text
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,070

    Default Re: Alignment of labels on Dialog???

    Quote Originally Posted by Easy Rider View Post
    I tried setting both label and cell properties vertical alignment to "Middle", but it had no effect.
    I repeat:

    That's because the preview uses Internet Explorer and you are viewing it in FireFox... Unfortunately they often interpret styles differently.

Similar Threads

  1. Dialog labels don't line up with Fields
    By Easy Rider in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2008, 08:46 AM
  2. Labels - for genie - Dymo Labels
    By Robert Barandes in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-24-2004, 11:43 AM
  3. alignment
    By Ian_Edwards in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-07-2004, 12:59 AM
  4. alignment of columns
    By Janet Seber in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2004, 01:54 PM
  5. ucc128 labels or any bar code labels
    By Kimm Stabelfeldt in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-02-2002, 05:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •