Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Alpha 5 Version 9 -- number of installations allowed?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    reignlight
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Alpha 5 Version 9 -- number of installations allowed?

    I recently purchased Alpha 5 version 9 (Platinum, single user) along with the Web Server Application for use in our web development process. Previously I was using 5 version 7 and was allowed 2 installations of each piece of software, which is very helpful for our testing purposes (in house, then launching the web portion). I need to know if I'm still allowed up to 2 installations per license on my version 9 stuff. Can't seem to find the answer online anywhere, and haven't actually installed the version 9 yet (in case it's answered in the help section of the new version when installed). I need to decide which machine(s) to install it on, so the answer to this question would be very helpful.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Alpha 5 Version 9 -- number of installations allowed?

    As far as I know, the 2 PC limit is still in effect. Nothing has ever been said to the contrary on the messageboard. If for some reason it no longer can be done, then you could change PCs by contacting Alpha to change from one to another (based upon computer name).
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul Budd
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Alpha 5 Version 9 -- number of installations allowed?

    I am a very new A5 user (less than a week), and I asked this same question of support two days ago and the answer is two, the software can be activated on two machines. Hope that helps.

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,680

    Default Re: Alpha 5 Version 9 -- number of installations allowed?

    Just to clarify a bit...

    A single Alpha Five license can be installed and activated on 2 machines for non-concurrent, non-networked use only. This second activation is granted solely for use by the same user on a second workstation (e.g. laptop or home computer) or for backup use.

    The Application Server can only be activated on a single server at a time, though no server license in needed for development and local testing.

    Lenny Forziati
    Vice President, Internet Products and Technical Services
    Alpha Software Corporation

Similar Threads

  1. Number Of Fieldes Allowed Creating A Form?
    By bob_herold@yahoo.com in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-30-2007, 11:32 AM
  2. Suggestions on Installations
    By Jerry Gray in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-13-2004, 01:10 PM
  3. version number
    By John Lemisch in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-25-2003, 06:37 AM
  4. Number of users allowed
    By Edward Schwartz in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2001, 01:00 PM
  5. version number
    By Kenneth Cameron in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2000, 09:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •