Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How do I link data from tables "z","y"+"x" in set A to tables "x" + "z" in set B?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Nancy Sellers
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mountains of Western NC
    Posts
    3

    Default How do I link data from tables "z","y"+"x" in set A to tables "x" + "z" in set B?

    HI --

    I take reservations for our business and I set up the original
    basis of my A5V9 "set" backwords, I believe.

    Originally I set it up for the reservation to be the base of
    the "set" & forms. Later I realized our Guests should be the
    base the forms.

    I discovered this Primarily because I couldn't record a guest
    taking more than one trail ride. So I would have to repeatedly
    enter a new record for the same guest. Therefore, duplicating
    guest information.

    My problem is how do I reverse this and maintain the data Linking
    to the tables properly without having to reenter it all? The info
    I want to relink in the new table is:

    Guest with Reservation info (originally Reservation with Group> Then Guest)

    I no longer think I need the middle table of "group"(GRP).

    So how do I link the reservation info back up with the Guest info?
    [Reverse engineer?]

    The data are in the individual tables. Just don't show when I
    create the new "set".

    I'm not sure of the terminology for all this. I'm definitely a Newbie!

    How "set" was originally organized is:
    H-C_Reserve_Set
    Horseback Reservation Info
    Group Info
    Guest Info
    Family Info
    Cabin Reservation Info


    Now I see I should have it (I believe):
    Guest_hb_cb_set
    Guest Info
    Horseback Reservation Info (hb)
    Group Info (for business or corporate outings)
    Family Info (spouse/children/grandchildren brought by the guest)
    Cabin Reservation Info (cb)


    My problem is that some of the information that was entered in the
    H-C_Reserve_Set, i.e.:
    Trail ride reservation id., date, time, group name, etc., etc.,
    (all the information in the h_reserve table) and
    GuideList information (all the information in the guide_list table)
    - people who guided the trail, etc.

    is not seen in the new set based on Guests...
    Guest_hb_cb_set.

    The Guest Table information is visible but
    the horseback reservation table (h_reserve) information is no
    longer seen in the form...nor can I enter it without it disappearing.

    Is there some way to link the horseback reservation information from
    the first "set", H-C_Reserve_Set, to my Guests in the new Set,
    Guest_hb_cb_set?

    Please say YES.

    Or is there another way it should be set up?

    Please advise, I'm a newbie.

    Nancy Sellers

    PS -
    Jpegs attached for the "set" diagrams and "forms" showing
    information available from h_reserve table in H-C_Reserve_Set
    but no information from the h_reserve table in the Guest_hb_cb_set.
    If more information or pictures are needed, please let me know.
    Last edited by Nancy; 01-09-2009 at 04:16 AM.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: How do I link data from tables "z","y"+"x" in set A to tables "x" + "z" in set B?

    Hi Nancy,

    Welcome to Alpha.

    I have had a quick look at your set and unfortunately you have fallen into the Newbie Trap, that is putting all you eggs into one basket, or in this case too many tables into one set.

    The accepted unwritten rule, except written in this forum, few tables in a set for data entry, many tables in a set for reporting.

    I will try and contact you later, as I have to go out now.

    Do you have Skype?
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Nancy Sellers
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mountains of Western NC
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: How do I link data from tables "z","y"+"x" in set A to tables "x" + "z" in set B?

    Thanks for your input.

    No, I don't have Skype. Our son tried it for a while but a walkie talkie would have been better. The connection was very poor.

    We live so far out they quit using copper for phone lines and started using barbed wire :D.

    Any help or suggestions you can give me would be deeply appreciated.

    Do you need to know how many fields or what kind of fields are in each table?
    I would be glad to do pics of them.

    My previous experience was with Lotus' Approach 1997 database. I've used the application I created from it for the past 10 years. Once I set it up, I was able to just duplicate it for the next year.

    It's basically a "flat" database, no tables. All the fields were in one database.
    So this is really new.

    Sincerely,
    Nancy Sellers

Similar Threads

  1. form.view("fName","","","center","center")
    By reynolditpi in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 12:37 AM
  2. To "zoom to record" or to "open form" using action scripting, that is the question.
    By georgefurnel in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-18-2008, 07:32 PM
  3. "Add" and "Save" buttons don't stay on "Self" page
    By Scholin in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 08:50 AM
  4. The power of a "Dialog" and the ease of use of a "Grid" component.
    By Fulltimer in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 02:08 AM
  5. Duplicating a "Parent" record complete with "Children"
    By Peterg in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-23-2006, 10:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •