Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Timeout query

  1. #1
    Member Larry Gordon's Avatar
    Real Name
    Larry Gordon
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    404

    Default Timeout query

    If I open a form or browse and then leave it for several minutes while I access another application or wonder off for a coffee etc, when I return to the Alpha app, it appears to have frozen, i.e. it takes a few moments to respond to the next keystroke, or it sometimes even falls over altogether.

    Is there a setting within Alpha that I should be adjusting to prevent this?

    Many thanks

    Larry Gordon

  2. #2
    Member trackmanpete's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pete Schuder
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Mansfield, MA
    Posts
    592

    Default Re: Timeout query

    Could this be an issue with your OS settings, rather than Alpha. I do a lot of switching back and forth between my Alpha app and browser that takes me away from my app for 5 to 10 minutes at a time, but have had no problems. I am using a5v9 build 3216. I have Vista Home Premium set to no sleep.
    "Ollie, remember how dumb I used to be? Well, I'm much better now."

    Pete

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: Timeout query

    Larry, I agree with Pete. Sounds like a hardware issue related to how you've configured the "sleep/hibernate" and "power saving" features of your operating system. If you're on a network the settings on your server should be checked as well.

  4. #4
    Member Larry Gordon's Avatar
    Real Name
    Larry Gordon
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    404

    Default Re: Timeout query

    Thanks very much for the feedback. I did suspect that it might be something to do with my OS, but I thought it better to ask in case I was missing something simple in Alpha. There are 4 PC's on an MS SBS. My only concern is that none of the other applications i.e. Word etc, suffer from the problem. However, I will now give our system a thorough check.
    Kind regards

    Larry

Similar Threads

  1. OLE Timeout ....
    By peterg000 in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-11-2009, 11:54 PM
  2. Session Timeout
    By gregz in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 09:00 PM
  3. network timeout and e-mail connections
    By CALocklin in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2007, 05:25 PM
  4. .timeout property of 'email_smtp_open' not working?
    By B.B.Bongers in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-16-2006, 03:31 PM
  5. calculating timeout - timein
    By David in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-08-2006, 04:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •