Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Bar Chart

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Dove
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    348

    Default Bar Chart

    Hi again, regarding my last post asking how to convert the Interactive Pie chart to a Interactive Bar chart. The actual task is to display this chart on the actual form containing the live field data.
    On the press of a button, I run a script which generates random numbers, and as the data contained in 20 numeric fields changes, I want the Bar chart to instantly reflect those changes.
    Any advice most welcome.

    Fred

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    Hi Fred,

    Have you built a Bar Chart yet?

    If yes what was the data source?

    You can make the code for the Chart run from a button instead of the OnFetch event.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Dove
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    Hi Keith, thanks for your reply. All I have done so far is modify the existing code for the Interactive Pie Chart, but I would prefer a Bar chart in this application. The reason I want an interactive chart is that as soon as the data changes on the existing form, it is instantly reflected in the chart. I have managed to create similar charts that work from buttons, but in this instance I need an Interactive one.

    Regards
    Fred

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    Hi Fred,

    Have you looked at the Bar Graph in Alpha Sports?

    It is found from the Miscellaneous Examples button, Main Menu.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Dove
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    Thanks Keith, I will have a look now.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Truman Phillips
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Hubert View Post
    Hi Fred,

    Have you looked at the Bar Graph in Alpha Sports?

    It is found from the Miscellaneous Examples button, Main Menu.
    In addition to Keith's suggestion I suggest that you look at look at Alpha5's "Sample andTutorial Databases: Learning xDialog and Using ActiveX Controls on Forms They have examples of interative active charts using both SimpleChart and Microsoft Chart.

    Truman

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Dove
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    OK my friend, I will have another look at that.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,441

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    The interactive pie chart example in the help files is a great place to try out. Beware however that
    a) you need microsft office on your machine
    b) you need to know the name of the office chart activex, and substitute it in the line
    Code:
    Graph.class="owc.chart"
    on my machine this would be
    Code:
    Graph.class="owc11.chartspace.11"
    then it works

    you can easily, even dynamically, change the pie chart to a bar or other type of graph by changing the value in the line
    Code:
     Chart.Type = 18
    to other values as in the list http://support.alphasoftware.com/alp...ed_Chart_Types
    hope this helps

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Dove
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    Hi Lance, I am using MS OFFICE PRO 2007. I can't seem to get the microsoft charts working.
    Is Graph.class="owc11.chartspace.11" refer to my version.
    Thanks
    Regards
    Fred

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,441

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    Hi Fred,

    Don't know as did not bother to upgrade to office 2007 after beta testing.

    To check your version. Create a blank form (based on any table), add an activex control to it, a dialog will open with all activex controls available on your machine, click the by name radio button at the top, then filter button at the bottom, enter something like *.chart and press ok. you should see a shortened list of controls, the one that begins with owc is the name you want.

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Dove
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: Bar Chart

    Ok Lance, I will try that.
    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Sample Chart in Report - Just as Chart in Form
    By Robert Rough in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2007, 04:35 AM
  2. Simple Bar Chart
    By Wayne in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-28-2007, 03:21 PM
  3. Bar chart code
    By jetcom in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 05:11 AM
  4. simple bar chart in reports
    By chris davenport in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-05-2003, 09:12 AM
  5. Bar Chart: Print Problems
    By David Boomer in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-13-2000, 01:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •