Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Asking for update in hosting in vps linux

  1. #1
    Member MikeData's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Data
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    921

    Default Asking for update in hosting in vps linux

    Has any one have an update in installing/ hosting in a vps under Linux?
    Is it possible to install and run application serve in a linux vps host?
    All the indications are that is not possible.
    I just wonder if there any thing new.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,069

    Default Re: Asking for update in hosting in vps linux

    There has never been any indication that Alpha5 desktop or WAS would ever be rewritten to run on Linux.

  3. #3
    Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,827

    Default Re: Asking for update in hosting in vps linux

    I know its on the mind of one or more of the Alpha engineers, but I don't think there is any support for it by management. This, like the other recent thread about "fixing bugs in the current version..." require the users (us guys) to raise awareness, complain, provide justification, etc. if we collectively want something to rise to the top of the list.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  4. #4
    Member MikeData's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Data
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    921

    Default Re: Asking for update in hosting in vps linux

    It is very, very disappointing to find out that we can only set alpha web sites on expensive hosting server. Such limitation encumbers development.
    Prices of vps server in Linux are a lot less.
    I know we can set it in a personal server, but many user are in cable and cable will limit you or prevent you from having a server.( As I understand now)
    If you are going to develop a very large web site then, it does not matter the price. For small business or mama & papa operation (which are many), it becomes prohibited the monthly charges plus the cost of license and development. I am sure there are many argument about this, but this is an issue.
    Hope Alpha people in their wisdom will help us, as it will help them to sell more.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,069

    Default Re: Asking for update in hosting in vps linux

    Just because some cable companies are incompatible with hosting your own server doesn't mean it isn't generally very affordable and easy to do. Certainly if you are talking about a business rather than a private user, since as a business you probably need a decent Internet connection anyway.

    We have a very very cheap low spec Windows 2003 server (about $100) with WAS on it, and a domain name linked with it, that's it as far as expenses on top of what we were already paying are concerned.

  6. #6
    Member MikeData's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Data
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    921

    Default Re: Asking for update in hosting in vps linux

    Quote Originally Posted by NoeticCC View Post
    a domain name linked with it, that's it as far as expenses on top of what we were already paying are concerned.
    Could you elaborate how is done. It may be the solution to it.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,069

    Default Re: Asking for update in hosting in vps linux

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeData View Post
    Could you elaborate how is done. It may be the solution to it.
    We have purchased a domain name and mapped it to the external IP address of our web server in the domain seller's web interface.
    (If you do not have a static IP there are also threads on this forum discussing services that let you link a dynamic IP address of your server to a fixed IP address that can be linked to a domain)

    Unless you have a lot of - and large - file downloads offered from your web server, a standard speed broadband connections should be OK.

  8. #8
    Member MikeData's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Data
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    921

    Default Re: Asking for update in hosting in vps linux

    Thanks I will explore that scenario.

Similar Threads

  1. VPS Hosting Plan
    By Tommy Thompson in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 01:18 AM
  2. VPS - Can't Edit Some Tables
    By steinmanal in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 08:32 AM
  3. What is recommended for a VPS
    By wizilinx in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-03-2008, 04:03 PM
  4. VPS Hosting
    By Mortie in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-19-2008, 08:56 AM
  5. VPS Hosting
    By Walter in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-04-2007, 11:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •