Alpha Video Training
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Passenger Seating Dbase

Real Name
    Nathan

Default Passenger Seating Dbase

I'm trying to develop a basic database for an airline type functionality. I'm quite new to Alpha Five and have some experience with Filemaker in the past. I'm pretty much after some advice on the feasibility or best method to go about this. This is what I'm after:

• I will be inputting a route (eg A-B-C-D)
    • I will input a passengers first name, last name, passport number and select the route they are flying. (eg A-D, or B-D)
    • I'd like a graphical representation of the seating available.
    • I'd like to be able to either drag the passenger to the picture of their seat, or enter the seat number in the passengers details.
    • I'd then like the seat to show who is sitting there and their details as well as changing color to show the seat is occupied.

I know it sounds like a lot.

I hope someone can offer some advice.

Thank you.

"Certified" Alphaholic Mike Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    mike wilson

Default Re: Passenger Seating Dbase

Nathan,
    How many seats are we talking about? How many different seating "patterns" would there be? The seating pattern of a Beoing 737 is very different from a 757.

Everything you describe is doable EXCEPT the dragging a passenger to their seat.
    Mike W

"Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert

Hi Mike,

There is a demo of a Hotel Reservation application that has drag fields in it but no one has yet shared the code for it.

It is in Richard's Blog
    Last edited by Keith Hubert; 02-25-2009 at 10:57 AM.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert

For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

Real Name
    mike wilson

Thanks Keith,