Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    Some progress on Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    see attached

    Click on coins, us coins,Penny, Nickel, Dime

    Instead of opening in new window, I need it to open on the same tree menu window.

    I have not been able to get a set to work yet

    To Mike C: how did you set variables when you click on the tree menu

    Any ideas
    thanks
    Charlie Crimmel

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    Still need Help:
    see attachment below

    Is there a way to open the forms in the same tree menu form. in the Desktop version.

    Much like an inline frame in HTML

    Right now the forms(penny,nickel,dime) opens in a new window.
    I need it to open in the same form.

    Any ideas
    thanks
    Charlie Crimmel

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,815

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    I haven't tried this yet... have to go out, but it seems like it might work.

    I think you'll need to create a set out of Category and Coins - based on CatId

    Copy the Tree form to a new form based on the new set.

    Add in a sub-form and add the fields for Penny. You'll add sub-forms for Penny, Nickel etc. and hide them all.

    Now, instead of opening a form, make it visible... so you hide and un-hide the forms as you click on the tree.

    I'll try this later tonight... but seems it might give you what you need.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,815

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    I've added a couple of Sub-Forms and changed the code a bit on the Tree for show() and hide() the forms. I've only done the Penny and Nickel. Is this what you'd like to do?

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    I posted this in the other related thread as well....but my example in the code archive should provide some answers.

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ad.php?t=77082


    Regards,

    Jeff

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    This is a duplicate follow up on the thread in the Features Wishlist Area....

    Charlie

    I just realized you are using my base code from the code archive sorry for pointing you to it a couple of times in the other threads.

    Here is some code from what I do now....

    Code:
    IF alltrim(vfinalresult)="" 'main branch and has no associated button
    	end 
    ELSE ' the user chose an item with an associated hidden button to push on the main screen
    eval(vfinalresult+".push()")
    vfinalresult=""
    end if

    Put this in the area where you are calling your form name and it will push the appropriate button. You will have to edit your settings in your source tree table to have the button name instead of the form name.

    Regards,

    Jeff

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,815

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    Just curious... was the code in the Coins database, Xdialog generated by A5... or did someone write it? If it was originally generated... how do you do that?

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    Hi David...

    It was not generated by Alpha. I wrote the tree control xdialog code.

    Regards,

    Jeff

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,815

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    Well it's quite elegant...

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    Jeff:
    Thanks
    Yes I borrowed your code.
    I was going to send you an email but your profile doesent accept emails.
    Not sure what I need to do???

    Put this in the area where you are calling your form name and it will push the appropriate button.(last section of Xdialog code?)

    You will have to edit your settings in your source tree table to have the button name instead of the form name.-OK

    When I click on the item in the tree, I need it to filter a browse with the correct coinage.
    Is there an a way to set a variable(vitemno) to the item number when I click the tree control?(penny="CS0001"

    I can get the coin forms to show in the tree form by using subforms, but the filters will not work.


    Charlie Crimmel
    crimmelcp@suddenlink.net
    hurricane, West Virginia

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    Quote Originally Posted by Davidk View Post
    Well it's quite elegant...
    Thank you David! I appreciate that.

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,815

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    I've tried to get the filter working but can't get it... still too new to A5.

    If I click on the Quickfilter button on the menubar then it filters. Trying to emulate this in code won't work... Form1.QuickFilter(). I've tried...

    Activate
    Refresh
    QuickFilter

    Going to try to execute a Query and apply that to the sub-form.

    Since the sub-form is based on a form with a Filter... shouldn't the filter apply? Is this a problem with A5?

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    David:
    I cannot get the filter to work on the tree menu form either.
    If you just doubleclick and open the forms from the control panel, the filter works.

    If I open forms in a new window the filters work.

    If I open the form as a subform on the tree menu form, the filter does not work

    Thanks for looking

    Charlie Crimmel

  14. #14
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    I think you both need to remove the base query from the form and set it with code in the onit event.

    More info in this recent thread.

    Regards,

    Jeff

    PS - In particular the post by G. Gabriel gives a nice explanation.

  15. #15
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,815

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    I just read that this morning and realized that must be the problem... makes sense the way it's explained. So happy you folks are here. Thanks.

  16. #16
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    I think I got this working.
    The key was to have a hidden button for each menu item and put most of the code on the buttons

    Thanks for the help

    charlie Crimmel

  17. #17
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,815

    Default Re: Some progress Collaspable Folders in desktop Application

    Looks really good...

Similar Threads

  1. Collaspable Folders in desktop Application
    By crimmelcp in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 02:36 PM
  2. How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application
    By edocx in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 10:44 AM
  3. Load a desktop application from application server
    By pcsamrjc in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 07:09 AM
  4. Application Updates to Different Folders problems
    By Mike Vance in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-10-2005, 10:37 PM
  5. File folders for a Runtime Application
    By Bruce Fairclough in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-23-2002, 01:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •