New call-to-action
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Security Framework

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Rob Polley
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    446

    Default Security Framework

    I promise I'll look at the documentation & help screens for the details, but may I ask:

    I have a membership list in a table, but they don't log on to the system. I want them to log on, so I plan to use the security framework. Can my current membership table "talk" to the security framework? I want it to, because to create an account, I ask for all sorts of information, which I need for my business. I assume that this will remain in the table in which I've always had it but that the log on part will be handled via the Security Framework.

    I'm sure this is not unique. If someone would provide just a bit of direction, I'd appreciate it.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Security Framework

    Don't have an answer but when I searched on Security Framework, 99% of the posts seem be in one of the Application Server areas rather than the Desktop area.

    Which Security Framework interests you?
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,849

    Default Re: Security Framework

    You posted in the Desktop area, but I think you mean Web since you ask about Security Framework. If you mean Desktop, ignore my answer.

    You have to use Security Framework's own model to have it run your security. You can keep your users and all their detail in your own users table, but you cannot use that table to authenticate users in to your system. But you can import all of those users in to the security framework and be quickly set up. Before importing, be sure you have some unique ID for each user, something other than their login ID or email address. Use that as the "ULINK" in security framework. Also make up a password for each user and include it in your table for import. You can remove it from your table after import.

    Then, when a user logs in, that unique ID will be set as a session variable. You can use that value to grab other values from your own users table, like their address, etc. There is more to explain on this part, but see if you can get your users set up first.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Rob Polley
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    446

    Default Re: Security Framework

    Stan & Steve,

    I did mean to post under WAS - sorry.

    Thank you. This is the kind of information I was looking for.

    I suspect I'll be back with questions, but I'll read the docs first.

    Thank you!

    --Rob

Similar Threads

  1. Security Framework
    By Esio Trot in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-13-2007, 08:41 AM
  2. Using LDAP within Security Framework
    By StephenP in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2007, 02:16 PM
  3. Security Framework - notes about V7 to V8
    By Steve Wood in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 05:24 AM
  4. Security framework
    By Bill Griffin in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-2007, 10:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •