Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Fill in Fields

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Matson
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    18

    Default Fill in Fields

    Hello all,

    I am afraid i am missing something simple here, hopefully you all can help.

    I have a grid that has 3 fields (CRN(course registration number), PROF,Course_id) and is add new records only. When a student enters the CRN number I want the other two fields to fill in with the matching information. I can accomplish this by using a lookup. but rather than students selecting their CRN from the lookup I just want the values to fill automatically when a student enters a CRN that is valid. I have a table that is used to validate the CRN for existence and contains the PROF and Course_id fields as well. Am I clear ?

    thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,643

    Default Re: Fill in Fields

    A table lookup should fill the other fields whether the value is picked from the list or typed in the field and then a tab or enter is pressed.

    Ooopppss - WAS forum - thought I was in desktop....

    You may need to add some AJAX to accomplish that in the web....
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    VAR Dan Blank's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dan Blank
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    995

    Default Re: Fill in Fields

    You are going to have to use Ajax as Al recommends, or let the user enter the course number and then press submit. Then use a posting operation to populate the the next two fields in the record.

    One of the issues letting the student type the CRN number is what I call "dirty data", with misspelling, or invalid data. For example a name "Jane" may be a Name to be matched in another table, but someone quickly types "Jan". Then there is no match and issues arise. Can cause bad problems later. I alway insist on lookups just to prevent this sort of mishap.
    Dan

    Dan Blank builds Databases
    Skype: danblank

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Matson
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Fill in Fields

    Gentlemen,

    thank you for quick responses. Both of the your posts in this forum have been extremely helpful to me already.

    Al- as you mentioned, that is exactly how our desktop application works as well, that is why i thought i have missed something in the lookup definition that would perform the same way.

    Dan- all the CRN are 5 digits in length and depending on the semester either begin with a 1 or a 5 so not hard to validate. If i force the lookup that would solve my problem except there are about 1200 records so..

    I think Ajax will be the solution.. i hope i can handle it..

  5. #5
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,643

    Default Re: Fill in Fields

    Quote Originally Posted by jmatson View Post
    I think Ajax will be the solution.. i hope i can handle it..
    The AJAX solution will provide an interface just like the desktop.

    If you are will to wait for the fields to be filled in after a button is pushed, or some other WAS event runs, you can build the code without AJAX.

    But I'm reading that you want it to happen asap from the time of data entry of the field - just liek the desktop...
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Is lookup the right choice to select & fill fields with 2 fields
    By MikeData in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-10-2009, 05:21 PM
  2. A5, V4.5, do not fill all the fields in table lookup
    By jrtarrago in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-2008, 04:08 PM
  3. Auto Fill Fields
    By Sigrist in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 01:04 PM
  4. Auto-Fill vs Calculated Fields in WAS
    By Rich Hartnett in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-30-2005, 02:50 PM
  5. Auto fill fields
    By Glenn Stehr in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-10-2003, 08:26 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •