Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: V9 Appserver losing license number

  1. #1
    Member Hansolo's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chuck Tanner
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    351

    Default V9 Appserver losing license number

    I have a strange problem with my V9 AppServer. After installing and giving it my license number and activating, it will lose the license number if I turn off the server and exit. Start the server program and the license number is not there. If I add it again, which i have to do, it knows it is already activated so I don't have to redo that part.

    Of course when the server is started without this number any outside traffic gets the error that the page does not exist.

    I plan to leave it on once I am done migrating from V8 to V9 but this seems like it should not happen just because one exits the program.

    Any clue?

    Thanks

    Chuck

  2. #2
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,595

    Lightbulb Re: V9 Appserver losing license number

    Chuck,

    Usually, if you enter the number, activate it, then exit the server and restart it, it will remember the number.

    If that doesn't work for you (and it sounds like it doesn't), then you can enter it manually in the XML configuration file. That file is burried very deeply. You can find it at
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Alpha Software\Alpha Five Application Server Version 9\Installations\CProgramFilesa5v9ApplicationServer\ApplicationServerConfig.xml

    You can edit that with Notepad and enter the number in the line
    licenses = "9171234567894301" <- not a real number!

    Pat

  3. #3
    Member Hansolo's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chuck Tanner
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    351

    Default Re: V9 Appserver losing license number

    It finially took. Don't know what I did. Thanks for the reply. I was glad not to have to manualy edit the XML file.

    Best.

Similar Threads

  1. License number
    By RayM in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2007, 05:38 PM
  2. V6 license number
    By Schulzie in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-17-2005, 05:30 PM
  3. License Number
    By Kerry Jackson in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-24-2004, 12:15 AM
  4. License Number
    By Barbara Solt in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2001, 04:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •