Alpha Video Training

Thread: How to proceed?

Real Name
    Ms Morgan

Default How to proceed?

I've been working on designing a database for a small non-profit for several months. I believe I've come up with a sound structure, but I'm getting stalled on the technical aspects of execution. Would it make sense to hire a pro to look at what I've done so far and give an estimate on the cost to complete it? And if that's a good plan, how would I find and select such a person, and what should I expect to pay?

Real Name
    Sean Kennedy

Default Re: How to proceed?

I am not a professional database developer so my comments are based on limited knowledge of how the whole process works. However, I am a professional and operate a small retail and service business in my community. I have been wrestling with this question for years. Should I hire a professional developer to help me finish my database?

For me it always seems to come down to two things - control and cost. Sometimes I have the money and get really close to hiring a pro, but then I get cold feet and fear losing control. Right now, I have no money so I have to do it myself anyway. I've got control but sometimes lack the skill to produce what I see in my head. I have learned to compromise and accept what I can produce until I can finally afford to get the help of a pro.

As a non-profit I would imagine that cost will be the biggest factor for you, assuming you can manage to do some development yourself. If you have no programming skills and can't even create a moderately useful application then you will have to hire a pro. Knowing what you want is important. If you know how to write contracts and negotiate you may be able to find a professional developer who will agree to your terms and give you decent results.