Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Page_total()

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    James Smith
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Westbury, NY
    Posts
    104

    Default Page_total()

    I frequently get 999,999.99 when using page_total() on an invoice report, instead of the actual page total which might be 19.46 for example.
    Below is the actual calculated field:

    PageTotal = page_total(Po2lineitems->Extension)

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,308

    Default Re: Page_total()

    Since line items are common to multiple invoices, I'm curious how you have the report set up. Are you trying to sum items across multiple invoices if multiple invoices appear on a single page? There are lots more questions. Best, instead, is to post a working copy of the database, with dummy data, and instructions for us to follow to see the problem.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    James Smith
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Westbury, NY
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Page_total()

    Tom:

    Multiple invoices are NEVER printed. Report is filtered by a unique field key.
    However your comments started me wondering about the set the report was based on. The report was based on the same set that is used for data entry and includes referential integrity for the lineitem table and a 1 to 1 link to vendors table with an "Always..." include. So I created a set just for the invoice report and omitted the referential integrity and changed the 1 to 1 link "Include" to "Only if a matching child record does exist". Page_Total() now works. I don't really understand why making these changes would do the trick, but it did.

    Thanks for your help
    Jim

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,308

    Default Re: Page_total()

    Jim, I'm glad you got it going. I had been thinking you might use a reverse set, with the items as parent, linked one to one to the header. Should be a snap to filter and also count / sum per page, etc. -- tom

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    George Corder
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    517

    Default Re: Page_total()

    I too was getting the 999,999.99 value at the bottom of my report. My referential integrity is set to None and Only if a matching child record DOES exist.

    I exited Alpha and restarted, stopped at the control panel Table/Sets tab and chose Tables/Utilities/Check Indexes and then Test All. Opened the report and the values were then accurate.

    George

Similar Threads

  1. Problems with page_total
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-17-2009, 09:56 PM
  2. Is there still a problem with page_total function?
    By drgarytraub in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-17-2009, 06:47 PM
  3. PAGE_TOTAL()
    By Ronald Anusiewicz in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-24-2005, 07:52 PM
  4. page_total
    By Elke in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-19-2004, 09:24 AM
  5. Problem with page_total function ...
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-09-2003, 06:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •