Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 27 of 27

Thread: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

  1. #1
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,644

    Default Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Having seen what version 10 w. codeless AJAX offers, I thought I would start another thread. Frankly, I am unable to contain myself. Version 10, to my mind certainly, is nothing short of a monumental breakthrough in web database development. The introduction of codeless AJAX alone is an outstanding achievement (yes, it really is codeless). But, beyond that, the array of extremely powerful and easy to use web features is simply astounding. For anyone who has seriously thought of making the leap from the desktop to the web, version 10 is it. Not only do you no longer have to re-fetch and refresh an entire page when, say, updating grid records, but Alpha now provides unprecedented and incredibly versatile tools, which provide unparalleled levels of functionality and productivity. This is no exaggeration.

    Congratulation to the entire Alpha Five team for developing a remarkable and truly revolutionary web platform!

  2. #2
    Member FrankR's Avatar
    Real Name
    Frank R
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Well said.

    V10 is going to amaze people.
    Frank R

  3. #3
    Member ColinJD's Avatar
    Real Name
    Colin Davies
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    489

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    The introduction of codeless AJAX alone is an outstanding achievement
    Agreed.
    I am under the impression that what is good for the Alpha Software Company will be good for all current Alpha Developers.
    Although Alpha has created codeless AJAX, the next challenge is now to Market this breakthrough. If this marketting is successful there will be a lot of extra Alpha developmnet happening, and that is good news for Alpha developers.
    Ajax alone promises near desktop performance on a webbrowser interface.
    Codeless AJAX promises fast development of those webbrowser interfaces.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Lou Milone
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    SE PA
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    I have a question related to a statement I saw in the email about the new V10. It says: "We have also boosted the performance of Aplication Server by rewriting key parts of it in C Sharp." <= that is the exact quote from the email, misspelling and all. :)

    My question is, how will C Sharp improve performance? I assume that most or all of the V9 application server is written in C (or C++), is that correct? I also further assume that C# has the same relative performance characteristics as Java.

    From my experience, Java has poor performance, despite the hype. C# has to be about the same.

    Please comment on my assumptions. But if I'm correct, then how will C# deliver higher performance over C or C++?

    Thank you.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    well i suppose that they improved the way that the server (wich is writen in c#) can interpret Xbasic and maybe javascript too.

    But forget the techie stuff, I im trying v10 and is a lot faster than previeous versions.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Lou Milone
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    SE PA
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Okay, the fact that you say it's faster is a very good thing, and that's the bottom line, isn't it? :)

    I honestly don't care how they did it, as long as it works well. I gave up technology religious wars a long time ago. I was just curious.

    And I am very excited about the new version. Hope it lives up to this hype. :)

    Thank you.

  7. #7
    Member ColinJD's Avatar
    Real Name
    Colin Davies
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    489

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    it's faster is a very good thing, and that's the bottom line, isn't it?
    Yes :-)
    --
    I was just curious.
    OK, I have written a couple of million lines of C++, and several years ago when MS introduced C#, I thought we were in for a performance hammering, as I wrongly believed C# was just going to be an interpreted script language.
    --
    I consider the biggest boost C# got was through the managed code aka auto garbage collecting. This allows developers to worry about things apart from resource leaks. Next the CLR with JIT compiling allows for better cross the board performance. But there is also Managed C++ and a lot of other languages, C sharp is just the MS defacto||base language.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Quote Originally Posted by mmaisterrena View Post
    well i suppose that they improved the way that the server (wich is writen in C·) c
    Correction: I actually don't know the language in which the server is writen

  9. #9
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    A lot of Alpha is actually written in Xbasic which proves what a fully featured and useable language it is. That's one of the reasons they can provide so much functionality so quickly.

    The statement about C# concerns rewriting some key (and often used) functions from Xbasic to C# to improve their performance.

    I can't get a lot of the new V10 stuff to work, so I'm very glad to hear about how well it is working for others...must be something in my setup.

    Pat

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Pat, im having some problems too for example
    I cant make "traditional" lookups work
    Expanding rows wont work either
    The Alpha five interface is slower than v9 (remember version 6?)

    but im confident that the alpha team will work on correcting most of this issues before release

    Still the features that are working for me are very impresive i think that this is not Alpha Five v10 it should be Alpha SIX v1 or Alpha Revolution v1 (naa lets save that last one for a video game or something)

  11. #11
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,644

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Quote Originally Posted by mmaisterrena View Post
    I cant make "traditional" lookups work
    Expanding rows wont work either
    The Alpha five interface is slower than v9 (remember version 6?)
    Haven't tried traditional lookups in v10 yet.
    Expanding rows work great for me. But sometimes there seems to be some kind of intermittent bug where you need to switch to the "pre-fetch" option - try that.
    Normal usage speed issues are often slower in a beta. At least that's been my past experience. But I haven't focused on the desktop at all, just the web stuff.

  12. #12
    Member FrankR's Avatar
    Real Name
    Frank R
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    210

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Quote Originally Posted by mmaisterrena View Post
    Pat, im having some problems too for example
    I cant make "traditional" lookups work
    Expanding rows wont work either
    The Alpha five interface is slower than v9 (remember version 6?)

    but im confident that the alpha team will work on correcting most of this issues before release
    Are you trying to report the specifics of what you are finding?

    While there will be things to resolve in the beta as they are uncovered, I do have lookups and expanding rows working.
    Frank R

  13. #13
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,695

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Quote Originally Posted by Lou Milone View Post
    I have a question related to a statement I saw in the email about the new V10. It says: "We have also boosted the performance of Aplication Server by rewriting key parts of it in C Sharp." <= that is the exact quote from the email, misspelling and all. :)

    My question is, how will C Sharp improve performance? I assume that most or all of the V9 application server is written in C (or C++), is that correct? I also further assume that C# has the same relative performance characteristics as Java.
    The Application Server is a mix of Xbasic, C and C++. Some of the Xbasic that was taking longer to execute than expected was rewritten in C++.

    But as others have stated, the actual programming language is essentially insignificant. What is important is that we were able identify an area of the code that was impacting performance and reimplement it in a way that makes the server run faster.

    Lenny Forziati
    Vice President, Internet Products and Technical Services
    Alpha Software Corporation

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Ron Leunis
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    652

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Dear Peter,

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter.Greulich View Post
    Having seen what version 10 w. codeless AJAX offers, I thought I would start another thread. Frankly, I am unable to contain myself. Version 10, to my mind certainly, is nothing short of a monumental breakthrough in web database development. The introduction of codeless AJAX alone is an outstanding achievement (yes, it really is codeless). But, beyond that, the array of extremely powerful and easy to use web features is simply astounding. For anyone who has seriously thought of making the leap from the desktop to the web, version 10 is it. Not only do you no longer have to re-fetch and refresh an entire page when, say, updating grid records, but Alpha now provides unprecedented and incredibly versatile tools, which provide unparalleled levels of functionality and productivity. This is no exaggeration.

    Congratulation to the entire Alpha Five team for developing a remarkable and truly revolutionary web platform!
    Just reading last Alpha's sales promoton email...

    In which your statement (above) is quoted...

    Have not seen a more positive reaction than this one on the board from you recently...
    Are you getting a percentage of related sales over it?
    ;-]
    Hope you will...
    You deserve it...
    Because you're right, I'm sure.
    Isn't it amazing?
    (so that's 1.5 % for me...)

    Just joking.
    ;-]
    Regards, Ron

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    Ron Leunis
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    652

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    . Probably hit enter twice , sorry..

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keeter
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Posts
    78

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Does anyone know if it is "easy" to modify the e-commerce app to take advantage V10's codeless AJAX benefits? Eliminating the full screen refresh would be great.

  17. #17
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,644

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Quote Originally Posted by rleunis View Post
    Have not seen a more positive reaction than this one on the board from you recently...
    Ron, I call'em like I see'em.


    Are you getting a percentage of related sales over it?
    You're a quick study!


    Isn't it amazing?
    (so that's 1.5 % for me...)
    Yes, it really is amazing.

    But, you only get your 1.5% cut if you earn it. ;)

  18. #18
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,172

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Quote Originally Posted by mmaisterrena View Post
    Pat, im having some problems too for example
    I cant make "traditional" lookups work
    The older lookup was replaced with a modal window which is much faster. However, the grid opened in the window must be an Ajax enabled grid.

  19. #19
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,644

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Quote Originally Posted by jkeeter View Post
    Does anyone know if it is "easy" to modify the e-commerce app to take advantage V10's codeless AJAX benefits? Eliminating the full screen refresh would be great.

    I'm not familiar w. the e-commerce app, but basically to enable AJAX all you do is check off a box in the grid. It doesn't get any easier. ;)

  20. #20
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keeter
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Posts
    78

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Nice...
    What do you have to do to get a copy now? It would make the app I am working on much nicer!!

  21. #21
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Lenny

    both grids are ajax enabled, the main one and the lookup one , although the lookup one was made in v9. I keep getting this message

    Error running Lookup grid: Script:TEMPLATE line:6 fnwcmp = a5_removetrailingbackslash(a5_default_path) + chr(92)+ + "Departamento Argument is incorrect data type

    I haven't defined any arguments on any of the grids so I dont know whats happening. Am I doing something wrong?

  22. #22
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,070

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Quote Originally Posted by mmaisterrena View Post
    Error running Lookup grid: Script:TEMPLATE line:6 fnwcmp = a5_removetrailingbackslash(a5_default_path) + chr(92)+ + "Departamento
    There is something missing between those two + signs

  23. #23
    Member MikeData's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Data
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    The tension is building.........

  24. #24
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    well yes that seems reasonable, but that code was created automatically by alpha I just sat up the look up field like I normally would do,
    I can also notice that there isn't a closing " on Departamento
    I am supposing this is a bug.

  25. #25
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Doing more tests i notice that everything (lookups expandable grids etc.) works fine if all the grids are made from scratch in v10 but the problem show up when the grids were made originally in v9 (yes ajax is turned on).

    Hope this gets fixed for the release

  26. #26
    Member MikeData's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Data
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    The last video from Alpha was very impressive
    Will it be a new alpha sport and e-commerce sample using those amazing features?

    PS: Please provide enough caribbean strong coffee to the developers so they will work at drum speed.

  27. #27
    Member
    Real Name
    Ron Leunis
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    652

    Default Re: Revolutionary Alpha Five version 10

    Quote Originally Posted by mmaisterrena View Post
    Doing more tests i notice that everything (lookups expandable grids etc.) works fine if all the grids are made from scratch in v10 but the problem show up when the grids were made originally in v9 (yes ajax is turned on).

    Hope this gets fixed for the release
    Lookups: It helped with most of my grids with lookups to open up the lookup definition, change something to make it "dirty" and resafe.

    Expandable grids: I was not aware something like that existed previous to V10...Please explain.

    What worked with most grids created in earlier versions, was to change something like a header and resave it in V10beta.

    regards, Ron

Similar Threads

  1. Alpha Five Version 6
    By marvin colon in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-07-2005, 02:59 AM
  2. alpha four version 8 is available
    By Richard Rabins in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-13-2003, 07:42 PM
  3. Alpha 5 Version 5 - When??
    By awj in forum Announcements
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-25-2002, 01:43 PM
  4. Alpha Four version 7
    By Jeff Fried in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 11-13-2001, 10:11 AM
  5. going from alpha 4 v6 to latest version alpha 5 Vx
    By Paul Hickman in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-01-2000, 07:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •