Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Retrieving the variables from an Xdialog

  1. #1
    Guest
    Real Name
    Mark Pearson
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Townsville, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    223

    Default Retrieving the variables from an Xdialog

    I am new to Alpha 5 and trying to workout how the variables are read from an xdialog. Example - I have an xdialog with a textbox and listview. OK and Cancel Buttons. I want to press OK to continue. What it has to do is extract the User ID from the listview and move on to my next step. I can see where I can create a session variable for the xdialog, but do not see how it gets populated with the result I want

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Louis Nickerson
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,039

    Default Re: Retrieving the variables from an Xdialog

    Mark,

    The values of the variables are there...you might just not be able to see them.

    When you click "Ok" (actually when you leave each field I believe) the value of that variable is written to memory.

    If the scope of your X-Dialog is anything other than GLOBAL, then you won't see these in the list of defined variables.

    Try placing a message box immediately after your Dialog box in action scripting. Have this message box display the value of your variable and you will see that it's there.

    Louis

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tom Henkel's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tom Henkel
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,858

    Default Re: Retrieving the variables from an Xdialog

    Mark,

    Welcome to Alpha!

    If you could post a copy of your code to the board, we could show you what the varaibles are and how to use them afterwards.

    Tom

  4. #4
    Guest
    Real Name
    Mark Pearson
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Townsville, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    223

    Default Re: Retrieving the variables from an Xdialog

    Thank you - I did not read the last view about variable scope properly. Yes when I made that 'make all variables global' I could see how they ran with the the suggestion of the message box.

    Thanks for the help - won't be long before I need it again

Similar Threads

  1. Global variables disappearing when using an Xdialog supercontrol on a form
    By Jay Talbott in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2009, 11:11 PM
  2. xdialog and date variables
    By Bob Arbuthnot in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-28-2005, 03:09 PM
  3. Can we size an XDialog with variables?
    By T Sayers in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-2005, 07:33 AM
  4. XDialog Box w/2 Variables?
    By seidel1 in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-20-2004, 08:55 AM
  5. Defining Xdialog Variables
    By Phil Rolf in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-03-2002, 11:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •