Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: "Expected Value" Message

  1. #1
    Member MikeData's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Data
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    923

    Default "Expected Value" Message

    I saw a similar post back in 2006. There were no solutions posted.

    I had some code in the event "cansaverecord". Entries were made and all was fine.
    After adding some code to the event in "cansaverecord" but removed after.
    The issue began
    Every time I enter a record, before it saves the record, I get the warning "Expected Value" with an OK.
    The code as of now is identical as it was before the writing and erasing.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Andrew Schone
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,047

    Default Re: "Expected Value" Message

    You can use xbasic to manipulate the field rules. I suggest taking a look at the output of the field rules in the interactive window. Comparing the malfunctioning rules to a set of rules for a table that works may help in identify if there is left over code or elements.

    If that fails I think I would duplicate the table along with the records, and then manually create the field rules. This is assuming that copying the field rules would bring the issue into the new table.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: "Expected Value" Message

    Mike, when I get that error message it often means that I've got unbalanced parentheses in an expression that Alpha is trying to evaluate.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Peter Wayne
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,728

    Default Re: "Expected Value" Message

    Open the offending field rules and press function key F4. That will check the syntax and usually find the syntax error. As Tom says, it generally means that you've left something out, either a parenthesis or a quote symbol.

  5. #5
    Member MikeData's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Data
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: "Expected Value" Message

    Thanks for the responses. You guys were right.
    Using F4 to uncover the problem, was a perfect tip in diagnosing the problem.
    It gave the error right at the offending line.
    As you see the picture attached, The alpha message was there, I did not realize it was missing the ' in the front line of alpha line.
    Once it was added, all well.

Similar Threads

  1. form.view("fName","","","center","center")
    By reynolditpi in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 12:37 AM
  2. "Cannot build/open post rule index" message
    By DonWalton in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-2008, 02:57 AM
  3. "Add" and "Save" buttons don't stay on "Self" page
    By Scholin in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 08:50 AM
  4. "Expected Value" error when attempting to create a set
    By Alexjs1 in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-04-2005, 01:06 PM
  5. ERROR "expected value"
    By Steve Foster in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2003, 06:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •