Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: User input compare to field name.

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Rick Bouchette
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default User input compare to field name.

    Newbie to Alpha 5 so I am hoping this is an easy one.

    I am creating a database for trucking companies delivering from state to state. I have created 50 from state fields and 50 to state fields with check boxes. I need to be able to have a user enter the 2 character from state and the 2 character to state and bring up a list of providers that carry from state to state.
    How do I compare the 2 character user input to the field name which is also the abbr. state name?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,312

    Default Re: User input compare to field name.

    You may be working too hard. Check the help file for discussion of Field Rule Table Lookups. The lookups can be filtered. i.e. you could define a lookup field rule for a single "provider" field and the field rule would display a lookup list of providers that carry to the "to_state" specified by the user. The list of providers would be stored in an separate table.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: User input compare to field name.

    Rick,
    Here is a simpler way....if what you want is to choose state abbreviations for fields. I have it based on a variable and also on a field....can be workable either way I would think.

    But it does utilize xbasic so you might not want it. The combo box is automatically populated with all the states abbreviations. The form required will open on startup---explanation on form.

    Open up the attached and unzip to a location other than your database. Open then as another database with Alpha.
    Attachment 21582

    Later....just noticed your first post. Welcome to the messageboard!
    Last edited by MikeC; 07-10-2009 at 12:22 AM.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Rick Bouchette
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: User input compare to field name.

    Thank you for your help. I am getting close to what I was looking for.

Similar Threads

  1. User input in a calculated field
    By Bman1984 in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-23-2009, 03:57 PM
  2. Prompt user for input in Report
    By gaby_h in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-20-2009, 11:58 AM
  3. Controlling user input
    By javadad in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-02-2009, 10:52 AM
  4. Prompt for User Input
    By Angelica Morris in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-06-2000, 01:49 PM
  5. User Input
    By Greg Sands Sr. in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2000, 06:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •