Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: bar chart on report

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jonathan
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default bar chart on report

    I am pretty new to alpha five, but I have figured a lot out in the past 2 weeks.
    I have one problem I have not figured how to get past and that is getting a bar chart onto a report. I followed the example in the help file and I have a bar chart that pops up in a dialog box, but I want to have the chart on my report.

    Is there a way to get it out of that dialog box and on to the activex box I had made on the report?

    Can anyone tell me if I am even on the right track here?

    If someone could write up a quick example of either a microsoft chart or simple chart that displays on the report, that would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    Hi Jon,

    Welcome to Alpha.

    The Simple Chart that ships with Alpha is the lite version as does not print.

    To be able to print you will need to purchase the full version from SimpleCharts. It is not expensive and will add a lot of power to your reports.

    Let us know when you get it if you and need extra help.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jonathan
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    Will the Microsoft office charts print? I believe the bar chart I made by following the example in the help file uses Microsoft office charts; unfortunately its floating in a dialog box and not actually on the report.
    What I'm looking for is help getting it there.

    Or is simple charts the only good option? I would prefer to not have to buy anything at this point.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    Keith,
    The Simple Chart that ships with Alpha is the lite version as does not print.
    We maybe are looking at two different things as I can print bar and pie charts using the SimpleChartLite that is shipped with Alpha.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Jonathan
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    Does anyone on here have experience using Microsoft office charts?

    A little help getting a bar graph on a report would be appreciated...

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Mike Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    mike wilson
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    4,200

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    Jon,
    Here are is an example with two variations of charts on a report. The activeX control is the SimpleChartLite (Xaxis4 I think?) that Mike described. Hope it helps.
    Mike W
    __________________________
    "I rebel in at least small things to express to the world that I have not completely surrendered"

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Jonathan
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Wilson View Post
    Jon,
    Here are is an example with two variations of charts on a report. The activeX control is the SimpleChartLite (Xaxis4 I think?) that Mike described. Hope it helps.
    yes, thank you so much. This looks like exactly what I was needing to see.



    So would the full version of SimpleChart have more visually appealing graphics?
    Perhaps some 3D bar graphs with some nice textures?

    These graphs look like ones people would have used more than 10 years ago...



    If the full version is better I may need to talk to my boss about getting a license for the standard edition... the enterprise edition has quite a price tag for including just a few graphs on reports. :(

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Mike Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    mike wilson
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    4,200

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    Jon,
    I don't have enterprise edition, and actually generated that example with A5v8.
    Mike W
    __________________________
    "I rebel in at least small things to express to the world that I have not completely surrendered"

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    Hi Jon,
    Perhaps some 3D bar graphs with some nice textures?
    Textures Yes. 3D, No, it does not. I have asked the company about this and they confirmed that they will not be doing this. Bit of a pity really.
    Last edited by Keith Hubert; 07-21-2009 at 07:59 PM.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Jonathan
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    I think I have this figured out now, thanks to all for their help.
    Last edited by k4m1k4z3; 07-23-2009 at 12:49 PM.

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    89

    Default Re: bar chart on report

    I think any policy that would contain the message that SimpleChart will not be developed any further would have to mean that Alpha starts looking for replacement! That seems rather clear.
    The OP is completely right that these graphs look like 10 years ago, this is absolute beginners stuff, and it does not matter much which version you have.

    Support is very very weak (to stay polite), they do not offer code examples for Alpha, instead, they offer a manual with solutions that do not even work with Alpha, technical options are weak, despite its name it is not simple enough to use, and it does not evolve. What more reasons do you need Alpha?

Similar Threads

  1. Bar Chart
    By Zradene in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-17-2009, 12:56 PM
  2. Sample Chart in Report - Just as Chart in Form
    By Robert Rough in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2007, 04:35 AM
  3. Simple Bar Chart
    By Wayne in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-28-2007, 03:21 PM
  4. Bar chart code
    By jetcom in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 05:11 AM
  5. Bar Chart: Print Problems
    By David Boomer in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-13-2000, 01:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •