Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pre-Purchase - A5ver5 to A5ver9 upgrade

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Rick Hashimoto
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Pre-Purchase - A5ver5 to A5ver9 upgrade

    I currently have a desktop application of many tables running on a SBS2003 server. 12 client computers using A5ver5 runtime on Win XP. Everything is running very smoothly with minimal problems. Very happy!
    At one time I experimented with A5ver7, but dumped it, as I wasn't willing to put in the conversion/upgrade time to get it to work.
    I'm now pondering an upgrade to A5ver9 (desktop)
    I'm not a programmer, but someone who has used Alpha since A4ver3 and learned, expanded & added on to make good use of a great software program.

    What am I in for if I upgrade to A5ver9 (or 10?)? Has the process been streamlined any? Has anyone experienced this? Is it worth the time, effort & frustration? Should I pursue the "browser based" applications too?

    Thanks in advance for suggestions, thoughts, comments & your experiences.

    Rick

  2. #2
    Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,596

    Default Re: Pre-Purchase - A5ver5 to A5ver9 upgrade

    I think a lot of people here, including me, would like to tell you to upgrade. There are a lot of reasons, but they may not be yours.

    But I always ask a customer, before such a recommendation, this question:

    "What, in your current system, can you not do that you want or need to do?"

    In other words, what do you want to achieve?

    From a programmer's / developer's standpoint, you're missing a whole lot of stuff by not upgrading. But that may not be reason enough to spend the $$.

    In general, the upgrade path should be short and relatively painless. Without testing your app against Version 9 or 10, it's hard to know what problems you might find.

    A simple and inexpensive way to get a quick analysis is to download the free 30-day trial (you'd get version 9 right now) and run that against your database.

    Darn, had no idea I'd type this much....
    -Steve


  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: Pre-Purchase - A5ver5 to A5ver9 upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Workings View Post
    I think a lot of people here, including me, would like to tell you to upgrade. There are a lot of reasons, but they may not be yours.

    But I always ask a customer, before such a recommendation, this question:

    "What, in your current system, can you not do that you want or need to do?"

    In other words, what do you want to achieve?

    From a programmer's / developer's standpoint, you're missing a whole lot of stuff by not upgrading. But that may not be reason enough to spend the $$.

    In general, the upgrade path should be short and relatively painless. Without testing your app against Version 9 or 10, it's hard to know what problems you might find.

    A simple and inexpensive way to get a quick analysis is to download the free 30-day trial (you'd get version 9 right now) and run that against your database.

    Darn, had no idea I'd type this much....

    Ahhhh, but very well said. Excellant advice.

    kenn

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Stermer
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    78

    Default Re: Pre-Purchase - A5ver5 to A5ver9 upgrade

    Hi am going to do the exactly same thing, going from A5v5 to A5v9 Plat. My applications run fine in A5v5 but I have some problems with some scripts in V9 that I am working out.

    My question is, are there any xbasic commands or syntax in A5V5 that are not compatible in A5V9? Also what about field rules, are there any compatibility issues? I vaguely remember a post about not using wait for idle statements in later versions.

    Possibly there is a listing of incompatibilities some where?

    Thanks for your help.

    JIm

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Pre-Purchase - A5ver5 to A5ver9 upgrade

    Jim,
    You mentioned one--the xbasic_wait_for_idle() is something that you may or may not need any longer in some scripts and the ones that are there may or may not cause some minor problems (timing issues I think).

    Arrays used now have to have the square brackets []

    Some problems with forms/browses (mainly browses) in that the new colors, default settings for flyover etc. can cause some seemingly messes...but are fairly easily remedied--worst case is to copy over your form fields and such to a new form created in v8,v9,etc. but not all and sometimes none will be affected.

    This is all I can remember being stated here on the board.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Stermer
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    78

    Default Re: Pre-Purchase - A5ver5 to A5ver9 upgrade

    Thanks Mike

    I'll check my arrays. I'm making all new forms in V9 especially with the new browses in this version so that should take care of those issues.

    I guess I'll have to experiment again with the timing. I remember years ago developing the V5 application locally and then finding when deploying it on the network, it did not work right.

    It should be interesting.

    Thanks again


    Jim

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    robert muzik
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default Re: Pre-Purchase - A5ver5 to A5ver9 upgrade

    Before I experimented with a new version, I would make sure that I backed up the original files. There are differences from one version to the other.

Similar Threads

  1. pre purchase
    By hmfl in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2009, 09:28 AM
  2. Pre Purchase Questions
    By Joe Ohlandt in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2003, 12:29 PM
  3. On-line purchase of A5V5 Upgrade
    By Rick Carlson in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2002, 08:32 PM
  4. Where Can I Purchase A4V6
    By Zenon Chrol in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-21-2000, 08:00 PM
  5. A5 purchase
    By peterhac in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-29-2000, 01:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •