New call-to-action
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Ambiguous column name

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Barry Jacobson
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default Ambiguous column name

    I keep getting the error message below. This (ProjectID) is the field linking my grids in a row-expander format. The field is not ambiguous - the parent grid has ProjectID from the parent table, the child grid has ProjectID from the child table.

    Thoughts?

    -----------------------------

    Could not get count of records in query.
    Database API specific error

    Your database has returned the following error code and description to Alpha Five.
    Consult your database documentation for further information.

    209 - '[Microsoft][SQL Server Native Client 10.0][SQL Server]Ambiguous column name 'ProjectID'.
    SQL State is: 42000'

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    jon larson
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    295

    Default Re: Ambiguous column name

    Are you saying that your table "Parent" has a column "ProjectID" and that your table "Child" also has a column "ProjectID"?

    If so, you might try changing the column names, ie: "P_ProjectID", "C_ProjectID".

    I saw this same behavior in my own happen app. My conclusion was that Alpha just doesn't like a name to be used on more than one column, even though in different tables - particularly so when it's index-related. Even employing an alias did not result in reliable operation.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Barry Jacobson
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: Ambiguous column name

    That is a good suggestion and certainly worth a try. If Alpha really is not handling this well, I believe that's a problem they need to address, as I don't believe I'm unusual in defining linked fields with the same name.

    What's particularly annoying is that Alpha is forcing me to include both fields in my queries and on my grid, even though a) the SQL certainly does not require that, and b) it's causing fields to need to be re-named in the query.

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee Richard Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Richard Rabins
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    2,347

    Default Re: Ambiguous column name

    barry

    can you touch base with jim.dusoe@alphasoftware.com about this
    thanks
    Richard Rabins
    Co Chairman
    Alpha Software

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    jon larson
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    295

    Default Re: Ambiguous column name

    Barry,

    If you learn anything useful on this issue, would you please post it here? I did, in the end, rename each and every one of my "problem" columns - forced, just as you were, whether the SQL statement truly required the column or not.

    If a solution is presented to you, I'd sure like to put it in my toolbox for my next DB design task.

    thx.

Similar Threads

  1. Where is the browse property for column heading color when column selected?
    By rmcgaffic in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2009, 03:50 PM
  2. Ambiguous column name 'Name'. SQL State is: 42000'
    By Atta in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 07:38 AM
  3. SQL State is 42000 - Ambiguous column name problem
    By Atta in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-11-2009, 06:50 PM
  4. LQO - Ambiguous how on earth do you get this working in a grid
    By peteconway in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 12:00 PM
  5. New Quick Sort Column click & moving column
    By dchiass in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 08:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •