Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: table lookup acting weird

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Richie Rich
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    28

    Default table lookup acting weird

    I have a set. A field in the parent table called cust id, I designed a lookup in a child table. Linking field is cust id Display order I put lastname so I was hoping would give me a a-z order of last names.
    In the source fill section I put cust id to fill cust id and put lastname for display. I hit drop down list box and popup on enter.
    Well it fills the id with the lastname even though the field id is 6 character width it will fill like lastname up to 16 characters.
    What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: table lookup acting weird

    Attaching a sample database so we can take a look would eliminate a lot of guessing.
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Richie Rich
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: table lookup acting weird

    I don't have the sightest idea of what you would want me to send you. All the tables in the set, forms, set configuation?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: table lookup acting weird

    Stan (and others) would need the tables, indexes, and memo field files for the tables in the set; and the dictionaries for the tables in your set; and the set dictionaries. Check the help file discussion of "Alpha File Types" for details.

    An easy alternative is to zip the entire database instead.

    Attachments here become public, so delete any private or confidential data first.

    To attach the zip file here use the "Go Advanced" button in the quick reply editor to open a more powerful message editor. Among it's faciilties is a "manage attachments" dialog that you use to attach, and then upload the zip file. Don't forget to "submit" the reply.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: table lookup acting weird

    Hi Rich,
    Well it fills the id with the lastname even though the field id is 6 character width it will fill like lastname up to 16 characters.
    What am I doing wrong?
    On the face of it, nothing. What do you want to happen that is not happening?
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

Similar Threads

  1. Radio Buttons of Xdialog Acting Weird
    By Steve Andrews in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-13-2007, 02:59 PM
  2. V7 Lookup Table Acting Weird
    By Rich Hartnett in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2006, 01:45 PM
  3. control panel 'restore' acting weird
    By Cheryl Lemire in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2004, 02:17 PM
  4. Table Lookup acting in a strange way?
    By glenschild in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-2004, 04:43 PM
  5. message board acting weird
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-21-2002, 04:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •