Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Meyers
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    153

    Default Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    I am wondering if there is a way to make it so that the tabs are different sizes as the headings are different and in one form there is one that is very long.

    Is this possible?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    I don't think so.

    An easy alternative that many prefer for other reasons is to use a large Conditional Object instead of a Tabbed Object, and then position buttons across the top that resemble tabs. These, of course, could be various sizes.

    -- tom

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Meyers
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    That is a great solution.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Mike Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    mike wilson
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    4,198

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    you can change the size of the tabs ( see pic), but they will all be the same size. there is not a (direct/simple) way to have variably sized tabs dynamically adjusted based on the length of the tab text.
    Mike W
    __________________________
    "I rebel in at least small things to express to the world that I have not completely surrendered"

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Meyers
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    This is good. Is it possible to control the sizes somewhat without having to do it a different way as this way cuts the left letter of the word off partially?

    Thank you very much for your answer.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Mike Wilson's Avatar
    Real Name
    mike wilson
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    4,198

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    OK, I believe I was wrong. I tried it and in my hands, the tabs in a tabbed object sizes itself to the length of the text. Maybe I am misunderstanding the question.
    Mike W
    __________________________
    "I rebel in at least small things to express to the world that I have not completely surrendered"

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Meyers
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    It ALMOST sizes itself to the name but it is just a little short on the left so that a quarter of the first letter is cut off on the words in the tabs.

    I guess I can read them though.

    Bruce

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    Try putting a period (.) or two as the first of the tab text. Spaces work too.
    There can be only one.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,785

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    Try different fonts, some definitely display better than others, or add a space at the beginning of the tab name.

    Edit: Hmmm I think I need to feed my carrier pigeons red bull or some thing. I was sure Stan's reply wasn't there when I hit submit. But I guess they did have further to fly.
    Last edited by Tim Kiebert; 11-04-2009 at 05:55 PM.
    Tim Kiebert
    Eagle Creek Citrus
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Meyers
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    WOW, this is a great idea. I should have thought of it.

    Thank you.

    Bruce

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Meyers
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Tabs (size Of) In Forms

    Already done and it looks great. Thank you.

Similar Threads

  1. tabs on forms to initiate a script
    By Adrian Williams in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-25-2007, 10:14 AM
  2. Problem opening forms with tabs
    By rmssoftware in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2007, 07:36 PM
  3. Tabs on forms do not show
    By Guy Mehuys in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-14-2004, 05:22 PM
  4. Missing forms & operations tabs
    By Will Stone in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2002, 06:33 AM
  5. Tabbed Forms-Moving Tabs
    By crimmelcp in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-06-2000, 10:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •