Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Stuck in a loop

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Gaby Hernandez
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,170

    Default Stuck in a loop

    Please see attached file.
    I am trying to write a script that processes records in an emb browse (Go the 1st record, process it, go to next process it, etc...). I can't get it to work, it gets stuck in a loop; tried a few avenues , no result. Could someone please take a look and let me know what i am doing wrong.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,785

    Default Re: Stuck in a loop

    Remove the Refresh Display and Save Record actions and put in their place a Refresh Object(s) action for vName.

    The refresh action causes the browse to refresh and go back to the first record.
    Tim Kiebert
    Eagle Creek Citrus
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Garry M Flanigan
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    909

    Default Re: Stuck in a loop

    What are you trying to do? Why do you want to set a variable?
    The script does not seem to do anything - records are saved in one step but nothing has been changed to warrant saving.
    The problem is however that the "Refresh" action causes the focus to move back to the first record so you end up in an endless loop.
    Garry

    Oops - Tim beat me!

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Gaby Hernandez
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,170

    Default Re: Stuck in a loop

    Thanks guys, works great; now i can move to the next step which is :
    Garry - This is just an example and my first brush with a loop script. The ultimate purpose is to use a looping script similar to this one to step through a series of names stored in an emb browse to send emails. I just wanted to get the mechanics of my script right before applying it to mass emailing.

Similar Threads

  1. Stuck in Loop
    By Louis_Spano in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2009, 06:33 PM
  2. Need Counter or loop help?
    By NicholasWieland in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-2009, 12:07 AM
  3. Simple Loop Example
    By John Fringer in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 10:32 AM
  4. lost in loop
    By Cheryl Lemire in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2006, 12:18 PM
  5. Infinite Loop
    By Melvin Davidson in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-03-2003, 07:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •