Alpha Video Training

Thread: Question on downloading and uploading files

Real Name
    Greg Davis

Default Question on downloading and uploading files

I'm going to be designing a web based application which will allow for my client's remote contractors to access through the Internet. I'm new to Alpha and have only recently gotten the desktop designing under my belt and I'm far from being seasoned. As to web based designing I'm completely new to it.

One of the main functions I will need from this app is the ability for the users to upload and download files or folders with sub folders and files. In doing some research I see that it looks like the Web application server can upload or download a file.

1. Can I upload multiple files at one time?
    2. Can I specify a folder and upload that and all of it's contents?
    3. Reversing these questions can the users download multiple files or a folder?
    4. Is this file transfer secure?
    5. Am I on the right track or should I be looking at using a FTP server? If so any recommendations?

Ultimately I need to be able to provide a secure and Hippa compliant method for getting files back and forth to users via the Internet. This web app is going to be hosted on the client's own server and the data to be moved is going to be moved by the app to different folders for storage as it is processed. Well, you can see I have a lot of questions, any help at all will be greatly appreciated.

Real Name
    Eric

Default Re: Question on downloading and uploading files

1. Can I upload multiple files at one time?
    2. Can I specify a folder and upload that and all of it's contents?
    3. Reversing these questions can the users download multiple files or a folder?
    4. Is this file transfer secure?
    5. Am I on the right track or should I be looking at using a FTP server? If so any recommendations?
    1) Think so. Believe there is a post by Pat B. describing his method.
    2) Yes. I do it with my app.