Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Grid with Detail View and Linked

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Chris Turnbull
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    445

    Default Grid with Detail View and Linked

    Hi,

    I have a Grid with Detail View which works great with a Popup Modal Window. I have then added a linked grid.

    When I click on the Parent Grid it doesn't show the records in the linked grid. Is it possible for a detail view with Popup Modal Window to coexist with a linked grid on the same page.

    Thanks

    Chris

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,648

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    I have had this same problem as well - although I have found it to crop up inconsistently. IOWs, sometimes it works as expected and other times not. The work around is to create a calc field based upon the linking field - e.g. calcRec_Id = Rec_id. Then use the calc field as the 2nd linking field for the linked grid.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Chris Turnbull
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    445

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    Thanks Peter,

    Sorry to be a nuisance but I am a little confused as to do what with what.

    I will explain my setup.

    I have a table called tblCompanies which is grdCompanies with the Detail View and I have a linked table called tblPlacements which is in a grdPlacements.

    Thanks

    Chris

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,648

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    You didn't give me the name of the linking field, so let's call it "Link_Id". So link the detail view on Link_Id (which is what you have already done). Now in grdCompanies go to query and click on the calculated field button. Create a new calc field: e.g. calcLink_Id = Link_Id. Add that field to your grid. You can check the "hide column" checkbox if you like. Link grdPlacements on the calcLink_Id field. That should resolve the linking conflict.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Chris Turnbull
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    445

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    Peter I am being really thick now.

    I cannot find where to setup the calulated field.

    Chris

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,648

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    Hhhmm...

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Chris Turnbull
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    445

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    Thats probably why Im using SQL Server.

    Chris

  8. #8
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,648

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    Maybe you can create a 2nd id field in the sql db and try it that way.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Ron Leunis
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    652

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter.Greulich View Post
    I have had this same problem as well - although I have found it to crop up inconsistently. IOWs, sometimes it works as expected and other times not. The work around is to create a calc field based upon the linking field - e.g. calcRec_Id = Rec_id. Then use the calc field as the 2nd linking field for the linked grid.
    Seems like this should be reported as a bug..? regards, Ron

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Chris Turnbull
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    445

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    I have created the extra field and copied the data from CompanyID to the CompanyLinkID and setup the link with both parts working.

    How do I keep the 2 link fields in sync when I create a new company record or can I just do a calculation on the client side.

    Any help greatfully received.

    How do I report a bug.

    Chris

  11. #11
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,648

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    Quote Originally Posted by Turnbullca View Post
    How do I keep the 2 link fields in sync when I create a new company record or can I just do a calculation on the client side.
    ...
    How do I report a bug.
    I think you have to create the 2nd field value server side using the sql engine because the value won't exist at the time you begin the new record. It only exists after you submit the record.

    From the controlpanel help menu, select "Send bug report".

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Chris Turnbull
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    445

    Default Re: Grid with Detail View and Linked

    Peter

    Thanks for all your help.

    The creating it server side was as I expected.

    Thanks

    Chris

Similar Threads

  1. upload from v10 grid detail view
    By christappan in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-10-2009, 12:38 PM
  2. Grid Detail View
    By jacklcs in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-12-2007, 08:28 PM
  3. Grid - Detail View
    By jacklcs22 in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-09-2007, 03:24 AM
  4. Grid View with Detail View To Add New Records
    By Jeff Benson in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2006, 11:28 AM
  5. Grid and the detail view
    By George Corder in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-2004, 07:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •