Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using Ver. 10 with older Version

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    David Saylor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Using Ver. 10 with older Version

    I have V. 10 on my machine and another one in our office has version 4. Will accessing the same data over a network work, or will V.10 change things and make it unusable. We are using .dbf files.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    David Saylor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Using Ver. 10 with older Version

    More info. It seemed like v.10 was able to read all the forms and reports, etc, but now there seems to be issues with the v.4 user. The forms open slowly and the typing seems to drag??

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tom Henkel's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tom Henkel
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,875

    Default Re: Using Ver. 10 with older Version

    be real careful. Although ver 10 won't change the .dbf file, it uses a .cdx as the index file, and that may cause ver 4 some issues. just be sure to keep things separate. The dictionaries (ddd,ddm,ddx) may also behave somewhat differently.

    Tom

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: Using Ver. 10 with older Version

    I share Tom's misgivings and would advise against sharing the single database between work stations running vers 4 and vers 10 of Alpha Five.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Shipley
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Using Ver. 10 with older Version

    How about v9 and v10? Should I expect any problems?

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    David Saylor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Using Ver. 10 with older Version

    Thanks all. I "sync" the two by using a windows Briefcase folder. I simply stopped syncing everything except the .dbf files and it is working fine. Your "wisdom" made it possible.

Similar Threads

  1. What happend to links in older threads
    By Marcel Kollenaar in forum Forum Usage
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2007, 07:03 PM
  2. Older runtime
    By Thontlb in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-23-2006, 04:31 AM
  3. Win98 with older Pentium
    By Eric in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-2005, 08:46 AM
  4. Home vs. Full Version of A5 Ver 5
    By Eric Johnson in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-28-2003, 09:47 AM
  5. A5, ver 4.0 and NT, version 4.0
    By Sigrist in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-25-2001, 08:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •