Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Code Editor v's Popup Editor (from Form)

  1. #1
    Member Steve T's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steven Taylor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    26

    Default Code Editor v's Popup Editor (from Form)

    I'm learning Xbasic and have just noticed this behaviour. When in design mode of a form, selecting the Popup Event Editor, when typing code we have access the the dropdown list of methods/properties when the period is entered (see first example).

    If at the Code Editor (not opened via the Popup route) this does not occur (see second example).

    Is this correct behaviour?

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,643

    Default Re: Code Editor v's Popup Editor (from Form)

    It looks like a possible bug. Please report it.

  3. #3
    VAR csda1's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ira J Perlow
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    3,530

    Default Re: Code Editor v's Popup Editor (from Form)

    Hi Steve,

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve T View Post
    Is this correct behaviour?
    Possibly, it could be. The pop-editor has the context of the form, hence the field's properties are known. It is not true in the code editor, since it is running in a separate window (and thread), it does not.

    It is possible the context could be passed to the code editor for those code segments associated with an event handler, so it's just probably not currently done. If you use other objects that are defined and known in the code editor, you do get the drop-downs.
    Regards,

    Ira J. Perlow
    Computer Systems Design


    CSDA A5 Products
    New - Free CSDA DiagInfo - v1.39, 30 Apr 2013
    CSDA Barcode Functions

    CSDA Code Utility
    CSDA Screen Capture



  4. #4
    Member Steve T's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steven Taylor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Code Editor v's Popup Editor (from Form)

    Thanks for the replies. I sent off a bug report yesterday.
    Steve
    Alphafive V10

Similar Threads

  1. Code Editor saved code to wrong script
    By Mike Wilson in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-22-2008, 02:56 PM
  2. Code Editor
    By masteralone in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-01-2006, 04:29 AM
  3. dissappearing code editor window-- closing a form on deactivate
    By acceptthis in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 09:44 AM
  4. RTF = POPUP editor
    By Cooper Collier in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-26-2003, 08:23 PM
  5. Code Editor
    By Randolph Hunter in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-22-2003, 05:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •