Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Unable to create or edit pages

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Abe Lewis
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    50

    Default Unable to create or edit pages

    When I try to create or edit an A5W or HTML page from the Web Control Panel, I get the following error:

    Script:UI_DLG_BOX:@=HTMLEditorDlgTitle line:37
    f =
    ole.create("DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam.DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam")
    Could not open OLE object
    'DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam.DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam'

    I get similar but different errors if I try to save any changes to those pages or create a Component.

    I am running Windows Vista Business with all the latest updates installed, as well as the latest version of Alpha 5: v10, build 2649, System Addins Build 3513. I have already tried uninstalling and reinstalling Alpha 5v10, but nothing changes.

    Does anyone have any clue what's going on? I would really appreciate any help.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Andrew Schone
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,047

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    I think it is related to the WYSIWYG editor. Search your system for dhtmled.ocx.

    Googling "DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam.DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam" lead me to http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa663363.aspx. Which lead me to the previous mentioned Activex component. Evidently this is no longer included with Vista but I have not seen anyone mention this issue before. Therefore I doubt that it not being shipped with Vista is the issue. Unfortunately I do not have a Vista machine to test on.

    In Windows XP I found the above file referenced at C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Triedit

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Abe Lewis
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    aws, thanks for the help.

    So a little more history: When I had first tried to install Alpha Five, it had gone through the whole process, and then right at the end given me an error: "A required resource could not be located." Vista had suggested Compatibility mode, so I installed it again in Compatibility mode, and didn't get the message.

    Anyhow, aws, the Microsoft article you linked to has a link to a DHTMLEditor installer for Vista. But when I tried to run it, it gave me the "A required resource could not be located." error again. Aha! So Alpha Five tries to install it for Vista, but the install wasn't working on my system for some reason.

    I searched Google and found someone who was getting the same error when trying to open .msi files. They said the problem had been the extractor. So I changed the DHTMLEd.msi file to be opened by Windows Installer instead of Win32 Cabinet Self-Extractor, and the install worked.

    Now I don't get the error message anymore. Thanks for your help!

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    dr fortini
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    I am having the same error, I am on a new Windows 7 Professional machine with 4Gb RAM, 32-bit version

    I click on New, A5W page, Blank Page, then I get this error

    Script:UI_DLG_BOX:@=HTMLEditorDLGTitle line:37
    f=
    ole.create("DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam.DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam")
    Could not open OLD object
    'degetblockfmtnamesparam.degetblockfmtnamesparam'


    A blank html window comes up, and I can't type in the WYSIWYG part, there's only
    </body></html>
    in the Source tab, no control menu on the menubar, and I can't save the
    file.

    I've tried this again with V10.5, and get the same result.

    Meanwhile, I'm running OK in a virtual XP machine window, but I would like to get the thing going on Windows 7, I've sent in 2 support requests (some time ago) and the only reply I've received is "it works on Win 7"

    I've looked into the DHTML editor, this only seems to apply to Vista.

    Any insight/solution would be much appreciated!

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Abe Lewis
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    Have you tried out my solution, above?

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    dr fortini
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    yes, I downloaded from
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
    and installed the DHTML editor
    When i reinstalled Alpha 5, after it was almost done, I get the choice to
    repair or remove the DHTML Editing Component

    I've tried both.
    With Repair, I get the same error
    with Remove, I get a blank screen with no error when I try to make a new HTML page

    Since I'm on Windows 7, I'm not sure if the Vista fix is relevant, but I'm willing to try anything at this point!

    Thanks for your input :)

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    eric
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,284

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    From the release notes July, 1th 2010

    Batch Files to Re-register OCX and DLL Files - Occasionally, (typically after installing a patch) you might encounter an error when Alpha Five tries to render some HTML content. Or the error might occur in a dialog that has a Property Grid control. These errors are the result of one of the DLL files that Alpha Five uses becoming 'unregistered'. Generally, reinstalling Alpha Five will fix the problem, but now two special batch files (one for Vista/Windows 7 user, and one for XP users) are included to make re-registering all necessary files very easy. The batch files are in the Alpha Five program folder and are:
    RegisterFiles.bat RegisterFilesVistaWin7.bat If you are using Vista or Windows 7 you must run the appropriate batch file using Administrator privileges.
    To run the batch file:
    Open Windows Explorer. Navigate to the folder where Alpha Five is installed and then right click on the appropriate batch file. Select the 'Run as administrator' command. Note: The RegisterFilesVistaWin7.bat file will register .dll and .ocx files and then run the dhtmled.msi installer to repair the Internet Explorer ActiveX control. Alpha Five uses this control to render HTML in many places (such as the Grid builder, HTML editor, etc.)

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    dr fortini
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    Hi, thanks for the ipo, I ran
    RegisterFilesVistaWin7.bat
    got all the registration messages and it ran the dhtmled.msi installer

    Opened Alpha, tried to crate an HTML file, I get a blank window with OK in the lower right corner, when I click OK, the window goes away.
    When I try to create a new A5W page, I get the same error as originally:
    Script:UI_DLG_BOX:@=HTMLEditorDLGTitle line:37
    f=
    ole.create("DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam.DEGetBlockFmtNamesParam")
    Could not open OLD object
    'degetblockfmtnamesparam.degetblockfmtnamesparam'

    A blank html window comes up, and I can't type in the WYSIWYG part, there's only
    </body></html>
    in the Source tab, no control menu on the menubar, and I can't save the
    file.

    back to the same place.....

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    dr fortini
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    should be "tip" ont he first line, not "ipo"..... horrible typing.....

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    eric
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,284

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    Did you do the install <bat> run as administrator?

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    dr fortini
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    Yes, I was admin when I ran the bat(ches)

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    dr fortini
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    BTW, this (original error) happened right away, after a new, clean install of A5V10 on a new, uncluttered Win7 Pro machine (dell, yeah, sue me for being stupid, but it's not a bad little box) Nothing real odd, using Mozy Pro for backup, Panda for A/V, not a whole lot else.

    Thanks to all with suggestions, I will try anything!!! (within reason ;)

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    David Boomer
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Brampton Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    662

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    I am having the same problem... did you find a solution?

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    David Boomer
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Brampton Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    662

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    I had a similar problem and fixed it by:
    Posting a bug report...
    Selwyn emailed a suggestion re: unregistered A5 components and suggested running registervistawin7.bat (located in the A5V11 program files directory) as administrator...

    I tried running registervistawin7.bat as administrator but it didn't seem to do anything... it failed, even though I did run by right-clicking on the file in the A5V11 directory and ran as administrator.

    BUT when I did the following, all worked well:
    Start->[Search Programs and Files]-> enter CMD-> right-Click on cmd -> run as administrator -> find the RegisterFilesVistaWin7.bat or RegisterFiles.bat (if you are using XP)... you should get a series of confirmation dialogs.

    So... I misunderstood and ran the batch file as administrator... what I should have done is run the CMD program as administrator!

    David Boomer
    Rebus-Creative Software Solutions

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    Fyi I still had problem after running RegisterFilesVistaWin7.bat as admin in the a5V11 folder so I also ran it in the a5V11 Runtime folder and that fixed it!

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Keith Regan
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    Hi Guys,
    Had cause to make some changes/additions to a5w pages and got the same error as above. Running Win7 32 bit with v10.5 Alpha. Tried to reregister and both repair and remove/install of the DHTML component but nothing seems to have fixed it. Did it get resolved somewhere and I just can't find it?

    All help greatfully recieved.

    Keith

  17. #17
    Volunteer Moderator drgarytraub's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dr. Gary Traub
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Boca Raton, FL
    Posts
    2,780

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    I am having the same problem. This is really frustrating. I cannot fix or change anything ...
    Gary S. Traub, Ph.D.


  18. #18
    Member
    Real Name
    David Boomer
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Brampton Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    662

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    ?did you try the procedure that I outlined above:

    "I tried running registervistawin7.bat as administrator but it didn't seem to do anything... it failed, even though I did run by right-clicking on the file in the A5V11 directory and ran as administrator.
    BUT when I did the following, all worked well:
    Start->[Search Programs and Files]-> enter CMD-> right-Click on cmd -> run as administrator -> find the RegisterFilesVistaWin7.bat or RegisterFiles.bat (if you are using XP)... you should get a series of confirmation dialogs.
    So... I misunderstood and ran the batch file as administrator... what I should have done is run the CMD program as administrator"

  19. #19
    Volunteer Moderator drgarytraub's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dr. Gary Traub
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Boca Raton, FL
    Posts
    2,780

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages.

    Yes. I did all of what you did. Got success messages all the way though and the dhtml editor got installed. But I still get the same error messafge when I try to edit any a5w page.
    Gary S. Traub, Ph.D.


  20. #20
    Volunteer Moderator drgarytraub's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dr. Gary Traub
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Boca Raton, FL
    Posts
    2,780

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages

    Problem Solved. Uninstalled IE version 11 and all is well!!!

    Thanks to Eric Luitjens.
    Gary S. Traub, Ph.D.


  21. #21
    Member
    Real Name
    John Berry
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    649

    Default Re: Unable to create or edit pages

    I am having the same problem using Win 7. I cannot create nor edit an A5w page nor HTML page..Tried all of the above except for uninstalling IE with no success.

    'dthmled.msi' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
    -and-
    The module "a5controlsproxy.dll" failed to load
    are a couple of the messages I get.

    I'd really prefer NOT to uninstall IE.

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to Edit Components
    By Phil Rolf in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-2011, 08:33 AM
  2. Unable to edit date
    By m.lange in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2009, 01:46 AM
  3. Unable to edit a form
    By LMT125 in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2007, 04:08 AM
  4. Unable to go to another record after edit.
    By Beltronics in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2006, 06:33 PM
  5. unable to save edit
    By Mary Vitale in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-31-2002, 06:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •