New call-to-action
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Browse jumping problem (again)

  1. #1
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    James A. Talbott, Jr.
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,491

    Default Browse jumping problem (again)

    Hi,
    Using A5v9, build 2349-3475.
    The browse on the form (only form) in the attached application jumps when a second record is selected for print.
    Instructions to view problem:
    open attached zip file in new folder
    open form
    click "Un-check all" box on form
    click on 2ndrecord in Print column
    click on 5th record in that column
    click on 7th record

    By this time, the pointer should have moved to the bottom record. I believe that the record pointer should not move at all.
    Are you experiencing the same problem?
    How can this be resolved.
    Thanks.
    Jay
    Jay Talbott
    Lexington, KY


  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default Re: Browse jumping problem (again)

    Jay, on my XP Pro sp3 system I'm NOT seeing any "jumping" when following your sequence.

    -- tom

    ps - in your "Print selected scripts" button you probably need to:
    a) terminate the script if unsaved edits are pending, to give the user the option of saving or canceling the edits.... so that no query is run until form is in view mode; and

    b) you probably need to resynch the display after the query is run.

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    James A. Talbott, Jr.
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,491

    Default Re: Browse jumping problem (again)

    Tom,
    Hi. Thanks for looking.
    I put the sample on an XP computer in my office, and did not see the jumping there, either.

    I am, however, seeing it in both the full app, as well as the sample that I posted on the board. My O/S is Vista. Perhaps that is the difference?????

    Thanks also for your two suggestions. I heartily agree with #1.

    I have
    browse1.resynch()
    browse1.fetch_first()
    at the end of both buttons. Do you think this is sufficient to resynch the display?
    Jay
    Jay Talbott
    Lexington, KY


  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default Re: Browse jumping problem (again)

    Jay,

    Your build is much much different from mine. I'm using build 2095_3264 of vers 9 of alpha Five. I thought that was the last release, are you using vers 9 or 10? I ask because you've posted to the vers 9 forum...

    ...

    and...

    since your form is based on a single table, I'd be inclined to resynch the form itself by using

    parentform.resynch()

    -- tom

  5. #5
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    James A. Talbott, Jr.
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,491

    Default Re: Browse jumping problem (again)

    Tom,
    I am using version 9.
    Thanks for the parentform.resynch()

    Jay
    Jay Talbott
    Lexington, KY


  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Ernie Storms
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wimberley, Texas
    Posts
    566

    Default Re: Browse jumping problem (again)

    Jay,
    I would like to ask Tom's question again. Where and when did you get build 2349-3475??????
    Ernie

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Browse jumping problem (again)

    Ernie,
    In case you are thinking that you somehow missed out on a new update, you haven't! I have also had a "later" build (2237/3268) which was an unreleased fix for something, but did not help out my issues at all so went back to the latest released build Tom stated.

    My thoughts though are that in order for us to help we should be on the same builds (which means Jay should go back to the one most everyone else has!) in case it is the issue.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Ernie Storms
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wimberley, Texas
    Posts
    566

    Default Re: Browse jumping problem (again)

    Thanks, Mike. I agree.
    Ernie

  9. #9
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    James A. Talbott, Jr.
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,491

    Default Re: Browse jumping problem (again)

    Mike,
    Thanks for your thoughts. I cannot remember why I have that build, but I agree that going back to the earlier one would probably be helpful.
    Jay
    Jay Talbott
    Lexington, KY


Similar Threads

  1. jumping from browse on form to next field on form without mouse
    By perry9999 in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2006, 07:02 PM
  2. Record jumping problem
    By pps in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2005, 11:50 AM
  3. Embeded browse selection jumping
    By Pat Bremkamp in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-22-2004, 09:01 PM
  4. Jumping form
    By Ronald Anusiewicz in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-2002, 08:31 PM
  5. Jumping Records
    By Phil Rolf in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-11-2001, 09:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •