Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: sql connection

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Joe A
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    96

    Default sql connection

    I am trying to build an AlphaDAO connection to my externally hosted (GoDaddy) MS SQL database, however I keep getting an error that I am unable to connect due to the following API error:

    11004 - sql server native client 10.0. TCP Provider: The requested name is valid, but no data of the requested type was found.

    My question is, does anyone know if I need to include the IP address in the connection string, and if so where in the text? Currently I am only providing a port number. Here is an example of the string that I am using:

    {A5API='SQLServer',A5DBVersion=2005,Server='NAME\SQLEXPRESS,1234',UserName='login',Password='´¶²µðéãë÷éãë'}

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Kind Regards,
    Joe

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    eric
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,284

    Default Re: sql connection

    If your database is on a remote host you need the hostname of ip number in your connection string

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Joe A
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: sql connection

    I've got the hostname = "NAME" next to the server name = "SQLEXPRESS." It appears in the string below as NAME\SQLEXPRESS. Here is the full string as it appears now:

    {A5API='SQLServer',A5DBVersion=2005,Server='NAME\SQLEXPRESS,1234',UserName='login',Password='´¶²µðéãë÷éãë'}

    I'm wondering if I need to add the IP number within the string.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    john bowen
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    160

    Default Re: sql connection

    You will need to use the IP address or host.domain to be able to connect to the server. Try replacing the name portion of your string with the IP or if you have host.domain. Also, make sure that GoDaddy is not blocking the port.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Joe A
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: sql connection

    I went ahead and tried both suggestions (IP address or host.domain) in place of NAME (server name), and got the same error.

    Error 11004, says "the requested name is valid, but no data of the requested type was found."

    I can't make any sense of this. I went ahead and submitted a help ticket to godaddy to see if they are blocking the port.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Joe A
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: sql connection

    Also, just so I am clear, my Alpha software is on my desktop and I am trying to remote connect to a SQL database on an external hosted (e.g., Godaddy) server? Is this even possible?

  7. #7
    Member MichaelCarroll's Avatar
    Real Name
    Michael Carroll
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    467

    Default Re: sql connection

    Quote Originally Posted by pja67 View Post
    Also, just so I am clear, my Alpha software is on my desktop and I am trying to remote connect to a SQL database on an external hosted (e.g., Godaddy) server? Is this even possible?
    Why do you want to use a remote SQL database?

    If this is going to be a production web environment you want to put your A5 Server, and your SQL database on a hosted platform like ZebraHost.

    Godaddy will not allow you to run the A5 server, and it will do you no good running on your workstation.

    If it will run on a local network, then put the database on the local network.

    Michael Carroll

    www.redrocksbluesky.com
    michael.vision360@gmail.com
    435-275-5170 Cell

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Joe A
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: sql connection

    Good news!! I was able to successfully connect to SQL Express 2005 that resides on a hosted site from a application running on my local machine.

    This article helped me do it: http://myhosting.com/wiki/SQL_Expres...ote_Connection.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    eric
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,284

    Default Re: sql connection

    You did find your information on a empty page ?:confused:

    On the board others where asking for the same somebody mentioned that SQLExpress remote connect is NOT supported by Bill Gates.

    So what is the right answer for other people that are using SQLEPRESS nice to have one conclusion

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Joe A
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: sql connection


  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    eric
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,284

    Default Re: sql connection

    Thanks (again)

Similar Threads

  1. Filtering SQL connection
    By srodopol in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 07:35 PM
  2. Trouble with SQL Connection.
    By Liahona in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 05:56 PM
  3. SQL connection problem...
    By ChopOMatic in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-11-2008, 04:03 AM
  4. SQL Connection
    By jkukuda in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-21-2008, 02:08 PM
  5. sql connection in V8
    By jfg in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-19-2007, 10:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •