Alpha Video Training
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 47

Thread: Printing to PDF

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    40

    Default Printing to PDF

    I have A5v10 and I am trying to print/save a report as a PDF File. I receive the next msg :

    Printer not activated, error code -20.

    I installed the Amyuni drivers and still have the same msg.

    I'll appreciate help on this matter.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Are you trying to print to the Amyuni driver? - Not the right way.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tome Cone, Jr
    in Alpha Five you don't "print to" the driver. You preview the report, then use the File menu "Save As" to redirect and create the digital file on disk. Are you unable to "Save" a report "As" PDF or Text?
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Yes.
    I configured Amyuni Document Converter to LPT1, File (AlphaFivePrinterv4) & Adobe PDF Port

    Also configured the same way AlphaFivePrinterv4 and receive the same msg.

    And also I receive the msg :

    Report Error comunicating with printer

    Do I have to activate Amyuni in order to print in PDF?

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Dale Bradt
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    You need to re-read Stan's message! You DON'T print to the driver!

    1. Preview the report.
    2. Use the FILE -> [SAVE AS] to create PDF.

    Good Luck!

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Repeating Dale's message. The Amyuni print driver is not equivalent to a HP, Lexmark, Brother, name_your_own_printer driver. The Amyuni driver is used internally by Alpha to generate the pdf output (or text, or rtf).


    You do not decide to print something and select the Amyuni driver as the output device.
    There can be only one.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    I preview & save as, select Acrobat PDF File, confirm the name of the file write the and still have the same msg and can not save to the pdf file.

    Please see following video :

    http://bit.ly/bRStir

    Do I have to reinstall A5v10?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Dale Bradt
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Quote Originally Posted by lerg View Post
    I preview & save as, select Acrobat PDF File, confirm the name of the file write the and still have the same msg and can not save to the pdf file.

    Please see following video :

    http://bit.ly/bRStir

    Do I have to reinstall A5v10?

    Thanks
    It should work as you practiced in your video.
    After reading through your posts, I'm wondering that when you changed your driver configuration, it broke. It should look like the attachement. You may want to download the latest update too. Good luck.

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    I found out the problem arises with Vista. I Installed on 2 other Vista computers with the Runtime A5v10 and appears the same msg (printer not activated, error code -20).
    Also I installed in an XP eq. and it did saved to a PDF file w/o problem.

    I do not know what to do next.

    Thanks for your help.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    I found out the problem arises with Vista.
    When you installed under vista did you have administrator priviledges, turn off UAC?
    There can be only one.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic glenschild's Avatar
    Real Name
    Glen Schild
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Frome, Somerset, UK
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Quote Originally Posted by lerg View Post
    I found out the problem arises with Vista. I Installed on 2 other Vista computers with the Runtime A5v10 and appears the same msg (printer not activated, error code -20).
    Also I installed in an XP eq. and it did saved to a PDF file w/o problem.

    I do not know what to do next.

    Thanks for your help.
    Try running Alpha in adminstrator mode. Right click on the shortcut and select "run as administrator" If that works then you will know it is a privileges issue. Next try right clicking on the shortcut and setting compatability mode to XP sp3.

    Regards

    Glen
    Glen Schild



    My Blog


  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Nick Hirsch
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Portsmouth, VA
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    In Windows Explorer navigate to the folder:
    Program Files (x86)
    A5v10

    Find the file named: InstallAmyuniPrinters

    Run this file

    You will now be able to use the print to a PDF function in Windows 7

    You may have to run this file twice

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    I ran as administrator and it worked.
    Does that mean that I have to open always as administrator?
    What about the installations on other computers?

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic glenschild's Avatar
    Real Name
    Glen Schild
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Frome, Somerset, UK
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Luis

    Try right clicking on the shortcut and set compatability mode as I described earlier and see if that works.

    It will vary pc to pc normally dependent on if the login has admin rights.

    Kind regards

    Glen
    Glen Schild



    My Blog


  14. #14
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    I think this applies to the Runtime as well as the developer versions.

    From the FAQ.

    When are Administrator rights required for Alpha Five applications?

    Administrator rights are required at installation time and first startup.
    There can be only one.

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Rainwater
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Since switching to Windows 7 I can no longer save report pdf's (see attached jpgs) I have reinstalled Alpha, run most recent update and tried to run InstallAmyuniPrinters (which failed) (third jpg)
    Bruce Rainwater

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Greg Burkel
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Mankato MN
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Bruce, in investigating this error myself, I think there are various problems that cause this issue so I won't just look at a single solution.

    To solve the problem in my location on Alpha v10.5 runtime, I had to go into the Windows(XP)Settings->Printers and Faxes and delete the PDF print driver that was created during installation. Then run a report preview in Alpha; in preview select the PDF button. Alpha will then ask you whether to install the print driver. When you do, the new driver worked.

    Whether this method will work in Win 7, I don't know.

  17. #17
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Exclamation Re: Printing to PDF

    I am running A5V10 on Windows 7, and cannot print or save my reports. When I try to save to a file I get the Error 30 message, and when I try to save to a file I get the Error communicating with Printer message.

    I did go into the A5V10 dfolder, find installAmyuni Printers and run it twice. This has not helped.

    I'm using an HP All in One Printer, and have recently reinstalled it (new computer) using the updated installation files from HP.

    Where do I go next?
    Thank you,
    Karen Bedeau

  18. #18
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Do you find a printer named

    alpha5v4 printer

    in the Windows Printers and Faxes control panel directory?
    There can be only one.

  19. #19
    Member
    Real Name
    JP
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Run the InstallAmyuniPrinters by right clicking on the file and choosing "Troubleshoot Compatibility" then select "Recommended Settings." It really grinds my gears that Alpha has not only NOT fixed this issue for V9 but looks like it's an issue in V10 as well.

  20. #20
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,318

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Might be clutching at straws here but;

    Is the Printer selected in the Report Properties set to Default?
    Have you tried printing to File from Report Properties?
    What happens when you Preview and then try to send as a different type of document in an e-mail?

    I ported a V9 app to V10.5 (not latest build) and so far it all works on an array of printers in test.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  21. #21
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    Do you find a printer named

    alpha5v4 printer

    in the Windows Printers and Faxes control panel directory?
    No.

  22. #22
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    No I don't find it there.
    Karen

  23. #23
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Then it didn't install correctly. See post #19 in this thread.
    There can be only one.

  24. #24
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    OK,I did that, and now AlphaFiveV4 appears in my Printers accessed via the Control Panel. I went into AlphaFive, generated another report, and, although I can print it, I can't archive or save it as a .pdf file.
    I still get the Printer Communcation error.
    What next?
    Karen

  25. #25
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Giles View Post
    Might be clutching at straws here but;

    Is the Printer selected in the Report Properties set to Default?
    Have you tried printing to File from Report Properties?
    What happens when you Preview and then try to send as a different type of document in an e-mail?

    I ported a V9 app to V10.5 (not latest build) and so far it all works on an array of printers in test.
    It wasn't set to "default," so I changed it, and still could not "Save as..." (any format) or "Archive"

    I had the same result when I tried printing to file from Report Properties.

    However, I am able to send it to myself as an email attachment (.pdf and .rtf) from Report Properties.

    Karen

  26. #26
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Quote Originally Posted by KarenABedeau View Post
    It wasn't set to "default," so I changed it, and still could not "Save as..." (any format) or "Archive"

    I had the same result when I tried printing to file from Report Properties.

    However, I am able to send it to myself as an email attachment (.pdf and .rtf) from Report Properties.

    Karen
    from Report Properties.
    I meant from the Report Preview....
    Karen

  27. #27
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Just for informational purposes...

    If you get to the Reports tab of the control panel, right click on a report name, choose Save As. Does the Print Genie appear?
    There can be only one.

  28. #28
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    Just for informational purposes...

    If you get to the Reports tab of the control panel, right click on a report name, choose Save As. Does the Print Genie appear?
    Yes, it does.

  29. #29
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    Quote Originally Posted by KarenABedeau View Post
    from Report Properties.
    I meant from the Report Preview....
    Karen
    Is there something else I should try to resolve this?

  30. #30
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Printing to PDF

    This is just one of sevaral issues I'm having with changing A5V10 to my new computer and Windows 7. I'm not sure whether they are all interrelated, or are separate issues.

    See "Compacting Database Issue" for one.

    The other is that my filters (using the Genie) are not working correctly on one of the fields in my parent database. "class" has the following possible entries: NA, NB, OA, OB, UA, UB, RNA, RNB, RAA, RAB, REA, REB, BNA, BNB, GO, GN, VER, TD, TDX, AND VST.
    I can filter on "begins with R," run my report, and get the correct records.
    When I filter on "begins with R" and check "exclude records that satisfy this criteria", I do not get the records with BNA, BNB, GO, GN, or VER.
    When I filter on class = BNA or class = BNB, I get NO records in my report. BUT, when I query on BNA and BNB from the set default browse, I get 16 records.
    So, I marked those 16 records, and ran the report on Marked Records...NO records in the Report.
    Am I losing my mind?

Similar Threads

  1. Problems printing to pdf
    By mmdinardo in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-15-2013, 01:48 AM
  2. Duplex PDF Printing Help
    By jkletrovets in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-06-2009, 03:15 PM
  3. PDF printing
    By omagarc in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2008, 10:13 PM
  4. PDF Printing Problems
    By Steve Bovino in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-27-2006, 08:22 AM
  5. PDF Printing Problem
    By Jim Stermer in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-08-2005, 07:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •