Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Need 2 totals for one field to go on a group footer

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Rick DeMarco
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Leonia, NJ
    Posts
    9

    Default Need 2 totals for one field to go on a group footer

    Hi again, hopefully another question with a simple answer...

    Price is successfully totaled on group footer and on report footer.

    Now I need to get totals for Price < $200.00 and Price not < $200.00 as well, in the group footer.

    I don't know where to put code to "filter?" the totals or accumulate the amounts in calculated fields?

    I haven't found any documentation on the actual "flow" of Alpha 5. I've been programming for 30+ years, but in a more "structured, top-down" fashion (assembler, etc.)

    thanks in advance for any information you may provide...

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,312

    Default Re: Need 2 totals for one field to go on a group footer

    I'd create two calc fields using the IF() function.

    In one I'd return the price if the price is less than zero and return zero otherwise.

    If(price < 200, price, 0)

    Iin the other I'd return the price if the price is greater than 200, and return zero otherwise.

    if(price >= 200, price, 0)

    then

    I'd drag them into the group footer and total them over the group.

    Check the help file discussion of the IF() function to understand how it works.

    -- tom
    Last edited by Tom Cone Jr; 02-03-2010 at 10:49 PM.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,785

    Default Re: Need 2 totals for one field to go on a group footer

    One way is to create two new calc fields for the report....

    Never mind. do what Tom said. :)

    After being away for a while it might take me a while to get up to speed.
    Tim Kiebert
    Eagle Creek Citrus
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Need 2 totals for one field to go on a group footer

    After being away for a while it might take me a while to get up to speed.
    Noticed that (being away). Finally made bail?
    There can be only one.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,785

    Default Re: Need 2 totals for one field to go on a group footer

    :D aahh who blabbed.
    Tim Kiebert
    Eagle Creek Citrus
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

Similar Threads

  1. Group Totals in Report Footer
    By Alan Lucas in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-25-2003, 05:59 PM
  2. placing group break totals in the report footer
    By eeetee in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-12-2003, 04:13 PM
  3. report footer totals for group summary
    By eeetee in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-01-2003, 01:25 PM
  4. Subreports not printing in group footer
    By Steve Buckler in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-29-2002, 10:39 PM
  5. group footer
    By gatosub in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2000, 12:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •