Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Reset Web Page after data input error

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jason Christiansen
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    167

    Default Reset Web Page after data input error

    Hello All

    I have an a5w page which allows someone to upload a file. If the user forgets to choose a file to upload (ie the file upload field is null) before hitting the upload button, an error is generated at the top of the page. How do I allow the user to clear the error and start with a clean screen without exiting and reentering the page?

    Many thanks

    Jason

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Reset Web Page after data input error

    We kinda need to know what this page looks like once the error appears. Is the filename field still visible, is the browse button still visible? If so, why can't they just click Browse and select a new file, etc.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jason Christiansen
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Reset Web Page after data input error

    Hi Steve

    Thanks very much for your reply! I have attached a screen dump which shows an error message. This message appears if the user hasnt chosen a file to upload before hitting the upload button. At present, the only way to make this error disappear is to click on the file upload button on the left hand side menu to reload the screen.

    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated

    Cheers

    Jason

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Reset Web Page after data input error

    By clear the screen, do you mean remove all the values from the box with all the fields? That looks like a dialog, and if so you can include code in the Activate Event like this that will blank out all selection when the screen refreshes to show the error message:

    currentform.controls.myfield=""
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Jason Christiansen
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Reset Web Page after data input error

    Hi Steve

    Thanks for the quick reply. It does look like a dialog, but its actually a standard datagrid. To my understanding a datagrid must always have data within it, so I was just wanting to give the user a way to reset the page (and most importantly delete the error message) so they can reattempt the file upload. At present, once an error message is shown, if the user attempts to complete the data entry correctly, the record wont upload to the dbase

    Cheers

    Jason

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Reset Web Page after data input error

    Afraid I'd have to see the entire page, all code, the grid, etc.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Jason Christiansen
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Reset Web Page after data input error

    Hi Steve

    No problem at all! Please find attached. You were the one that helped with the upload code originally, so some of this code may look familiar :)

    Thanks again

    Jason

    HTML Code:
    <html>
    <%a5
    dim msg as c = ""
    dim session.id as n
    if eval_valid("Image_Upload_S_ID")
    session.id = Image_Upload_S_ID
    end if
    if eval_valid("cmd")
    if filetoupload.filename= ""
    ?"Error Message - You must choose a file to upload.  Click the upload document button on the left hand side menu to reattempt the upload"
    ELSE If session.id = 0 
    ?"Error Message - You must click the Search button after selecting the required event before choosing your attachment and uploading.  Click the upload document button on the left hand side menu to reattempt the upload"
    ELSE
    dim fn as c
    fn = "G:\COMMON\CDC\Data Manager\AlphaFive\images" + "\\"+ FiletoUpload.filename
    				
    				file.from_blob(fn,FileToUpload.data)   
    			    msg = "<a href=\"/" + FileToUpload.filename + "\" target=\"_blank\">" + FileToUpload.filename + "</a> was uploaded<br /><br />" 
    
    	tbl=table.open("attachment")
    	tbl.enter_begin()
    	tbl.Imagefilepath=fn
    	tbl.Date = NOW()-30
    	tbl.Caseid = session.id
        'save_to_file(session.id,"c:\test.txt")
    	tbl.Text = attachtxt
    	tbl.enter_end(.t.)
    	tbl.close()
    	session.id = 0
    
    end if
    end if
    
    %>
    <head>
    
    <%a5
    dim request.variables.__ajax as c = default ""
    'Only run if not in an Ajax callback.
    if request.variables.__ajax = "" then 
    	Delete tmpl_MenuNavigation1
    	DIM tmpl_MenuNavigation1 as P
    	tmpl_MenuNavigation1 = a5w_load_component("MenuNavigation1") 'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE (LOAD:MenuNavigation1)
    	'Following code allows you to override settings in the saved component, and specify the component alias (componentName property).
    	'Each component on a page must have a unique alias (componentName property).
    	with tmpl_MenuNavigation1
    		location = ""
    		componentName = "MenuNavigation1"
    	end with 
    '=======================================compute the HTML for the Component=======================================
    	delete x_MenuNavigation1
    	dim x_MenuNavigation1 as p
    	x_MenuNavigation1 = a5w_run_Component(tmpl_MenuNavigation1) 'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE (RUN:tmpl_MenuNavigation1)
    	?x_MenuNavigation1.Output.Head.JavaScript
    	?x_MenuNavigation1.Output.Head.CSS_Link
    end if 'end test in Ajax callback
    %>
    
    <%a5
    'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE - Start Ajax1----------------------------------
    'Test to see if we are in an Ajax callback............................................................
    dim componentAlias as c
    'The componentAlias MUST be UNIQUE for each component on the page.
    'The componentAlias must not have any spaces in the name. Try to keep the componentAlias as short as possible.
    componentAlias = "Image_Upload"
    dim request.variables.__ajax as c = default ""
    dim request.variables.__formID as c = default ""
    'If it is an ajax callback for another component, then don't run this component.
    dim flagMustExecuteComponent as l = .t.
    if request.variables.__ajax = "true" then 
    	if word(request.variables.__formID,1,".") <> componentAlias then 
    		flagMustExecuteComponent = .f.
    	end if 
    end if 
    'End test............................................................................................
    if flagMustExecuteComponent = .t. then 
    	Delete tmpl_Image_Upload
    	DIM tmpl_Image_Upload as P
    	tmpl_Image_Upload = a5w_load_component("Image_Upload") 'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE (LOAD:Image_Upload)
    	'Following code allows you to override settings in the saved component.
    	with tmpl_Image_Upload
    		componentName = componentAlias
    	end with 
    '=======================================compute the HTML for the Component=======================================
    	delete x_Image_Upload
    	dim x_Image_Upload as p
    	x_Image_Upload = a5w_run_Component(tmpl_Image_Upload)  'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE (RUN:tmpl_Image_Upload)
    	'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE - Ajax2----------------------------------
    	dim x_Image_Upload.IsAjaxResponse as l = default .f.
    	if x_Image_Upload.IsAjaxResponse = .t. then 
    		'Discard any pending text in the output buffer.
    		*output_rewind()
    		?x_Image_Upload.Ajaxresponse
    		end
    	end if 
    '=============================================================================================================
    	if x_Image_Upload.RedirectURL <> "" then 
    		response.redirect(x_Image_Upload.redirectURL)
    		end
    	end if 
    end if 'end flagMustExecuteComponent test
    'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE - End Ajax1----------------------------------
    dim request.variables.__ajax as c = default ""
    'Only emit if not in an Ajax callback.
    if request.variables.__ajax = "" then 
    	?x_Image_Upload.Output.Head.JavaScript
    	?x_Image_Upload.Output.Head.CSS_Link
    end if 
    %>
    <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code Start - Will be automatically removed when page is published -->
    <!--CSS for tmpl_Image_Upload -->
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="file:///G:/COMMON/CDC/Data Manager/AlphaFive/CDISA5.WebProjects/Shared Resources/css/Airport/style.css">
    <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code End -->
    
    <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code Start - Will be automatically removed when page is published -->
    <!--CSS for tmpl_GridLinker -->
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="file:///G:/COMMON/CDC/Data Manager/AlphaFive/CDISA5.WebProjects/Shared Resources/css/Airport/style.css">
    <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code End -->
    
    <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code Start - Will be automatically removed when page is published -->
    <!--CSS for tmpl_MenuNavigation1 -->
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="file:///G:/COMMON/CDC/Data Manager/AlphaFive/CDISA5.WebProjects/Shared Resources/css/Clover1/components/a5navsysToolbar/style.css">
    <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code End -->
    
    <meta name="generator" content="Alpha Five HTML Editor Version 9 Build 2095-3264">
    <title></title>
    </head>
    <body class="AirportPageBODY">
    
    
    
    <p><table>
      <tbody>
    	<tr>
    		<td valign="top"><!-- Navigation System -->
          <p>
    <%a5 ?x_MenuNavigation1.Output.Body.navsysTBV %></p>
          <p>&nbsp;</p>
          <p>
    </p>
    		</td>
    		<td valign="top">&nbsp;
    			    <br>
    <td valign="top">
    			    <table border="0" id="table1" style="BACKGROUND:; WIDTH: 15in">
      <tr>
        <td ></td>
        <td valign="center"><font face="Candara" size="5" color="#ff9900"><b><font size=6>CDI - Communicable Disease 
                Interface</font>        
                <br> Brisbane South Communicable Disease Services</b></font></td></tr></table>
    <hr>
    
          <p><b><font color=#ffffff><font size="4">To 
          upload a file, firstly search for the relevant event via the search 
          function and press the 'Search' button. Once successful, enter the description text in the bottom text 
          box (if required), browse for the file, and click on the browse button, select the file 
          and then click 'Upload File'</font></font>     
          </b></p>
    <table><!--Table enclosing Grid component-->
    	<tr><!--Table row for Grid Search Part-->
    <tr>
    <td><%A5 ?x_Image_Upload.Output.Body.Grid_Echo %></td></tr>
    	<tr>
    		<td><%A5 ?x_Image_Upload.Output.Body.UpdateErrors %></td>
    <tr>
    		<td><!--Table cell for Grid Search Part (Will be blank if Grid uses a Master Layout Template)-->
    			<%A5 ?x_Image_Upload.Output.Body.Search_HTML %></td><!--End table cell for Grid Search Part-->
    	</tr><!--End table row for Grid Search Part-->
    	<tr><!--Table row for Grid Part-->
    		<td><%A5 ?x_Image_Upload.Output.Body.Grid_HTML %></td>
    	</tr><!--End table row for Grid Part-->
    	<tr><!--Table row for Grid Detail View Part-->
    		<td><!--Table cell for Grid Detail View Part (Will be blank if Grid uses a Master Layout Template)-->
    			<%A5 ?x_Image_Upload.Output.Body.DetailView_HTML	%></td><!--End table cell for Grid Search Part-->
    	</tr><!--End table row for Grid Search Part-->
    </table>
    <table cellPadding=0 background="" border=0>
    <p>&nbsp; 
            <p></p>
    <form action="<%A5 ? request.script_name %> " method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data">
    <label><font color=#ffffff>Enter text to describe your 
            document</font>     </label><p><textarea id=textarea1 name=attachtxt rows=5 cols=40></textarea><p>  
    <input type="file" name="FileToUpload" ><br >
    <input type="submit" name="cmd" value="Upload File"> 
    
    </form>
    <%a5 ? msg %></p></p>
            </table><!--End table enclosing Grid component--><br></td></tr></tbody></table></p>
    </body></html>

Similar Threads

  1. Create a web page that allows user to input new order/customer info
    By jessie1_pink in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 11:53 PM
  2. Web page with 2 links to pull different data
    By vinyltap in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-22-2006, 05:49 AM
  3. Reading web page data
    By Mike Reed in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-14-2005, 10:53 AM
  4. web page data field placement
    By Mike Reed in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-16-2005, 05:00 PM
  5. Sending data to a web page ??
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-31-2004, 06:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •