Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    William Clementz
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    36

    Default Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Will QreportBuilder version 8 work on windows 7? I am trying to move to a new computer with windows 7 and cannot connect to QB 2008 Pro. I get the same error message as in other threads:

    Error Messages ==================================================


    Table: item -------------------------------------
    Error message: Could not create ResultSet from DataSource definition.

    Could not connect to Database. Error reported was:

    Database API specific error

    Your database has returned the following error code and description to Alpha Five.
    Consult your database documentation for further information.

    10041 - '[Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Driver's SQLSetConnectAttr failed
    SQL State is: IM006
    [QODBC] QB Begin Session Failed. Error = 80040408, Could not start QuickBooks.

    SQL State is: 00000'

    I cannot get the certificate to come up..
    Somewhere in a thread I saw to find the certificate in C:\windows\system32\fggb32.dll.
    It was not there - it was in C:\windows\sysWOW64\fggb32.dll.

    Thanks, Bill

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Bill

    QRB 2008 is based on A5 v8.

    So you can use the same information that might make A5v8 run on Win7 - if it does - I don't have Win 7 to test with.. Waiting for stimulus to get it.... - ie a new machine..
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    William Clementz
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Continue to have no luck. Am confused why the certificate won't come up.

    Bill

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Quote Originally Posted by captclem View Post
    Continue to have no luck. Am confused why the certificate won't come up.

    Bill
    The certificate doesn't come up because QuickBooks hasn't started. It's a QB function to show the certificate.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    William Clementz
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    So am I doing something wrong or will Qreportbuilder 2008 not work with Quickbooks 2008 Pro on Windows 7 Home Premium ?

    Is anyone using windows 7?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Quote Originally Posted by captclem View Post
    So am I doing something wrong or will Qreportbuilder 2008 not work with Quickbooks 2008 Pro on Windows 7 Home Premium ?

    Is anyone using windows 7?

    Thanks,
    Bill
    Bill

    I would download QRB 2009 and try it now....

    http://qreportbuilder.com/qrb_downloads.html
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    William Clementz
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Did - no help.

    Trying alternatives such as passing through msaccess but not having much luck.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Quote Originally Posted by captclem View Post
    Did - no help.

    Trying alternatives such as passing through msaccess but not having much luck.

    Thanks,
    Bill
    Hmmm.... I seen QRB 2009 running on Win 7 64 bit and it flies....

    I would think a 32 bit version would work easier and still quickly..

    Not sure what the issue is that you're having....
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    William Clementz
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Al,
    Finally got it. Not sure how or why though. I wrote an action script to refresh the company table (run silent) and it brought up the certificate page and got me connected. Whew!!

    Hate setting up new computers especially when moving to new windows version.

    Thanks for working with me,

    Bill

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Quote Originally Posted by captclem View Post
    Al,
    Finally got it. Not sure how or why though. I wrote an action script to refresh the company table (run silent) and it brought up the certificate page and got me connected. Whew!!

    Hate setting up new computers especially when moving to new windows version.

    Thanks for working with me,

    Bill
    Great!

    Did you end up with 2008 or 2009 running? You really should be on 2009..

    I usually use the refresh tables for selected tables and chose the company table as the first table to refresh since it's only one record...

    So do you have a 32 or 64 bit Win 7 that you are using? Either way, please check back with your successful results. :D (or questions) ;)
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    William Clementz
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Well not so great.

    Running trial version QBR 2009. Windows 7 Home Premium. QB 2008.

    Started brand new project thinking something in the tables I added was messing things up.

    I go to show refresh history and start refreshing tables one at a time.
    All goes well. So now i check four related tables. I get one maybe two to refresh before a unhandled exception violation error by alpha five that closes QBR.

    Any ideas. The error message goes away before I can read through it completely.

    Bill

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    download and install the latest QODBC trial from this link.

    Install - no CD key needed - press next
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    William Clementz
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    That did it for sure. Wow what trip. Everything refreshed on both my companies - all my reports work horray.

    Next step is to purchase QBR v9.

    My question is: will it contain the version of QODBC that you suggested? Or will I have to buy it also?

    Thanks again for everything.

    Bill

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    Quote Originally Posted by captclem View Post
    That did it for sure. Wow what trip. Everything refreshed on both my companies - all my reports work horray.

    Next step is to purchase QBR v9.

    My question is: will it contain the version of QODBC that you suggested? Or will I have to buy it also?

    Thanks again for everything.

    Bill
    QRB works with whatever version of QODBC you have installed and QRB will work with it without buying a license. QRB has it's own license for QODBC.

    To upgrade QODBC, merely download the latest QODBC driver and install it.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    William Clementz
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Windows 7 installation with QReportBuilder 8

    When I called to order QBR v9 I was informed that V10 will be available in a couple of weeks. And it will work with Windows 7. I look forward to that release.

    Bill

Similar Threads

  1. New Installation on Windows 7
    By phsonnek in forum QReportBuilder
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 11:27 AM
  2. Installation in Windows Vista 64...
    By chris0626 in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 09:06 AM
  3. Windows NT 4.0 installation
    By burtnco in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-04-2004, 02:40 PM
  4. Windows 98 Installation
    By Milton Sirota in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2000, 11:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •