Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Layton
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    64

    Default "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    I am reposting this issue, with updated efforts, so that others might benefit from my trail of crumbs and someone might even have a solution. My build is 2731-3538. I use AlwaysUp.

    I cannot open reports in my app from web browser. I get the following error:
    "Script Error
    Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is not installed. Re-install Alpha Five Application Server"

    Reports open fine in the WAS

    I have done the following:

    I reviewed Steve Wood's post of 09-15-09 "A5 Printer fail after update to V10 patch", regarding this same problem and did not note any final fix. I am hesitant (actually more irritated than hesitant) to go back to V9 WAS.

    Cleared cache, ran registry cleaner, restarted WAS, hard reboot.
    No luck.
    Asked Clive of Zebrahost to reinstall everything and check it. He did and Control Panel shows the WAS installed and the printer installed and active.
    Still no help.

    I went back through the code from my pages and a5cmps to be sure the version and build were correctly stated. They were.

    I took the reports down and created a couple of new test reports. They don't open either.

    I followed Selwyn's suggestions from 2/21/10 "Release Candidate for Next Update":
    "You might try:
    1. rebooting the machine.
    2. delete the 'alphafivev4' printer from the printers control panel.
    3. reinstall the app server from scratch
    4. reapply the patch."

    Still no help.

    I emailed Amyuni and outlined my efforts. Their response:

    Hello

    If you received the Amyuni PDF Converter bundled within an application, this version of the PDF Converter is a special developer’s version which can not be used as a general PDF printer.

    This version of the PDF Converter installed on your system has been configured to function only within the software package which installed it.

    Some of the major applications which use are product are Broderbund's Print Shop or Print Master, Intuit's QuickBooks or Quicken and Calyx Point's accounting software package.

    If you are having difficulties or need assistance in using the product, we suggest that you contact the technical support department of the software vendor.

    Since you are a licensed user of a product that uses our component, we can offer you our Amyuni PDF Converter Suite at a special reduced price.

    This version of our product will also allow you to print from this application and from all other applications installed on your system.
    http://www.amyuni.com/en/enduser/pdf.../features.html

    You can purchase this product online from the link below or if you wish further pricing information, I suggest that you contact our sales department
    (sales@amyuni.com)

    http://www.amyuni.com/developer/

    The other option available is to use our per incident support plan.

    The cost of this option is $129 US and we will ensure that you get a resolution to your issue or a refund of the $129 fee. If you would like to use this option, please call our main phone line at 514-868-9226, ext 200 with your credit card ready. You will then be transferred to a developer who will work on resolving your issue. Resolving the issue might involve sending you updated files but this will be covered by the support fee.


    Regards,
    Amyuni Technical Support

    Any help? Any one?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Frank Bicknell
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    39.1915° N, 84.4348° W
    Posts
    2,467

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    I had the same issue with running Alpha five web application server as a service. I had to go back to running the ex at start-up as I noticed that when run as a service no session folder is created. Hope this helps.

    See post http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ad.php?t=85214

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Layton
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Thanks, Frank. I am going to stop AlwaysUp and try running detached. I'll post the results.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Layton
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Update:

    I reinstalled patches, no help.

    I asked Clive from Zebrahost (the best in the business and, clearly patient) to shut down AlwaysUp and restart the WAS not running as a service. No help.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Frank Bicknell
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    39.1915° N, 84.4348° W
    Posts
    2,467

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    I hoped that would help. I verified that if I run WAS as a service (not using always up) and set the 'Service Log-In' to 'Service' I get that exact error. If I set the 'Service Log-In' to my 'administrator login' reports are fine, however, like I said earlier no session folder is created. So it seems that there is more than one way to get that error.

  6. #6
    Member MichaelCarroll's Avatar
    Real Name
    Michael Carroll
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    467

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Hi,

    Did you create a simple app. One table and one report, and create a tab control that calls the report. Make sure that security for the page is set to always allow. Publish to WAS. What happens?

    Then, add complexity.

    Did you file a bug report?

    Trust me there are a few things that I though were bugs and were driving me nuts. Then AHA! and you feel stupid. Ah but humility is good.

    Compared to V9 V10 rocks... IMHO

    Regards,

    Michael Carroll

    www.redrocksbluesky.com
    michael.vision360@gmail.com
    435-275-5175

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Layton
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Yep. Did the simple app with one table, one report, one page, etc. No luck. And, you are absolutely right, v10, except for my printing issue, is a better program. I agree, as well, that 99% of the time, these things turn out to be such simple errors that it is humbling. Unfortunately, I have not, in all the efforts outlined and omitted, found that error and time is not on my side.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,070

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Have you set AlwaysUp to run the WAS as a specific user especially an Admin one? If not then it may run as "system" which may not have the right permissions to run the printer driver.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Layton
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Thanks for the tip, but, Clive set it up both ways and then detached A5V10 entirely from AlwaysUp. No effect from any of those changes. If there is a Nobel Prize for service and patience, I'm nominating Clive at Zebrahost.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,070

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Quote Originally Posted by willobeth View Post
    If there is a Nobel Prize for service and patience, I'm nominating Clive at Zebrahost.
    Seconded!

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Charles Andrews
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    I'm having this problem right now -- have gone through all the suggestions, but no dice.

    Reports are a pretty integral part of the app I'm trying to write, and wonder if anyone has had any luck with this problem.

    FYI - I'm working off a VPS from GoDaddy, with Cute.pdf writer as my printer.

    Thanks.

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Lines
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    I am also having this problem, but I may have a new clue...

    My OS is Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise (64bit)

    If Always Up starts the App Server, reports will not print/display

    If the App Server is started manually by clicking on the App Server executable, reports work fine.

    Interestingly, on 32bit Windows Server 2003, the reports work fine with Always Up.

    Something to do with the Operating System perhaps????

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    eric
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,284

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Quote Originally Posted by Ezslim View Post
    I am also having this problem, but I may have a new clue...

    My OS is Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise (64bit)

    If Always Up starts the App Server, reports will not print/display

    If the App Server is started manually by clicking on the App Server executable, reports work fine.

    Interestingly, on 32bit Windows Server 2003, the reports work fine with Always Up.

    Something to do with the Operating System perhaps????
    Check vendor that Windows Server 2008 R2 64bits is supported
    Where did you install Always up ? \program files (x86)

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Lines
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Amazingly, I've found a solution to the problem.

    In Always Up configuration, you can specify that the App Server is run as a specific user.

    I configured Always Up to run the App Server as a user who has administrative rights to the box, and the reports now work fine when Always Up starts the App Server.

  15. #15
    Member leetv's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lee Taylor-Vaughan
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hillsborough, NJ/Avondale, AZ/Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    I had the same problem and just figured out that the print spooler service is not running on my server.
    i enabled it, then re-installed WAS, the A5 printer appeared in my printers box. then i ensured that the admin user was set in always up and now it works.
    (printer spooler was stopped... no clue why, maybe that's default for my hosting company).
    Lee
    (hope this helps someone).

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Clive Swanepoel
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Johnston, Iowa
    Posts
    119

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    At ZebraHost we set the print spooler service to start automatically. We also set AlwaysUp to run the Alpha Five Web Application Server logged in as the admin user not as system.

    If a customer experiences issues printing pdfs we can usually fix the problem by restarting the print spooler. Of course this does not fix the underlying issue which may be caused by something else.
    Affordable Alpha Five, PHP, MySQL Hosting.
    Serving Webmasters since 2000.ZebraHost

  17. #17
    Member
    Real Name
    Clive Swanepoel
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Johnston, Iowa
    Posts
    119

    Default Re: "Script Error:'Alpha Five Printer' (for creating PDF, RTF and HTML output) is n

    Also it is a good idea to reboot or at least restart the application after updating the build if you are running it under AlwaysUp.
    Affordable Alpha Five, PHP, MySQL Hosting.
    Serving Webmasters since 2000.ZebraHost

Similar Threads

  1. error Alpha Five Printer for PDF printer not installed
    By oldtony in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-05-2005, 02:20 PM
  2. PDF/RTF/ HTML Driver Install Error Fixed?
    By George Pelkofer in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-03-2003, 07:36 AM
  3. Alpha Five Hang on NT4 and Loading PDF/RTF/HTML
    By Selwyn Rabins in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-01-2002, 01:25 PM
  4. Cannot load PDF/HTML/RTF/ Driver
    By BRochford in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2002, 06:34 AM
  5. PDF printer driver creates .pdf output
    By Rich Drabik in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-10-2001, 03:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •