Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Install issue

  1. #1
    Member Larry Gordon's Avatar
    Real Name
    Larry Gordon
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    404

    Default Install issue

    Some time ago I greatfully gained the following from this board:

    sys_open(a5.get_path()+chr(92)+"george"+chr(92)+"george_bc"+chr(92)+"George_B_Cert.jpg")

    which has allowed me to port my application between computers on a USB stick and still locate all my jpg's etc. Today I created an Install Package via Alpha onto a CD, then installed my application onto another PC, where the application works fine, but unfortunately cannot now locate any of the jpg's.

    My jpg's are all in sub-folders from the application folder. I am assuming that the Alpha Installer has not copied these folders. I would be grateful for any advice as to what to do. I tried importing the files into my CP Code tab, but there are too many for Alpha to cope with.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Install issue

    Hi Larry,

    Your assumption is correct, the folder with the images must be specifically added when the Installer is being used.

    Have a look at Step 3: Customizations, note the Install Additional Files button.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  3. #3
    Member Larry Gordon's Avatar
    Real Name
    Larry Gordon
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    404

    Default Re: Install issue

    Hi Keith,
    Thanks for that - I should have consulted the Help first - which I now note is quite clear on this subject. It was still a problem however as I had several hundred additional files to include with my install and I didn't have any success with any wild card statements I tried.

Similar Threads

  1. If I just install V8 will everything I've made under V7 work without issue?
    By clintg@erols.com in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-27-2007, 12:43 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2006, 10:38 AM
  3. Runtime and Install Package Issue
    By scottly in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-2004, 06:33 AM
  4. during install
    By Harold Swindelol in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2004, 09:49 AM
  5. won't Install
    By Daryl Mcclimans in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-07-2003, 03:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •