Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: 'Match' Lookup Field?

  1. #1
    Member Leonw43's Avatar
    Real Name
    Leon Williams
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    106

    Post 'Match' Lookup Field?

    Hi, I've been having a problem with making a suitable lookup field for my database. It's a "Road Name" field, so I want to be able to enter data into it (without having to click 'add new entry') plus be able to use the lookup function to see if a property has already been entered on a record. For this I attempted to use the "match" option in the field rules editor from the "Allow Exceptions" dropdown. This did do what I wanted, however it insisted on filling the field with the nearest data to what I had typed in.

    Is there any way to get this field working the way I want it to? I just want to be able to enter any data while at the same time perform a lookup for existing data, without it replacing whatever I type with something from the lookup!

    Any help / advice would be great, thanks,

    Leon

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,310

    Default Re: 'Match' Lookup Field?

    Please clarify.

    What's wrong with just not selecting "force closest match" in the lookup field rule?

  3. #3
    Member Leonw43's Avatar
    Real Name
    Leon Williams
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: 'Match' Lookup Field?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Cone Jr View Post
    Please clarify.

    What's wrong with just not selecting "force closest match" in the lookup field rule?
    Mainly because most of the time I'll be entering in new data, say for instance I entered the name of a road, I dont want to force it to change to another road name. It's stopping me from being able to enter random data.

    EDIT: Sorry I seem to have misread your reply! I'm pretty sure I gave that a try, i'll have another look though.

    Thanks,

    Leon
    Last edited by Leonw43; 04-30-2010 at 07:44 AM.

  4. #4
    Member Leonw43's Avatar
    Real Name
    Leon Williams
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: 'Match' Lookup Field?

    It worked fine haha!

    I think I should play around with the properties a bit more before posting here next time

    Thanks,

    Leon

Similar Threads

  1. Field Types Don't Match
    By debwelch in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-22-2010, 08:54 AM
  2. Active-link tables MYSQL Error "Field types dont match"
    By slamdunk in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-02-2008, 12:40 PM
  3. Print number of labels that match value in a field
    By jdoyle in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2007, 02:12 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-01-2007, 11:25 PM
  5. Lookup with a single match
    By Don Malm in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-07-2002, 09:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •