Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Post in field rules

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,024

    Default Post in field rules

    Any help? It will be appreciated.

    How do you remove a post operation in field rules? I tried all I could, Including deleting the field, restarting alpa and reinserting the field. The field rule is still there. It seems it is attached to the name of that field.

    .
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,620

    Default Re: Post in field rules

    Open field rules - pick the field - posting tab

    menu - rules - delete rule

    save

    I find myself always manually pressing the save button with field rules. I don't rely on the close realizing that a field rule has changed and should be saved.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Post in field rules

    I'll probably experiment with it later to satisfy my curiosity but I think you could

    delete the field
    dictionary.update() the dictionary for the table in question
    and reinsert the field

    Or you could just use Al's suggestion which is faster.
    There can be only one.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,024

    Default Re: Post in field rules

    I have already tried both suggestions and they did not work. I submitted a bug report and sent the table with associated files after finding a5v7 was the same way. It only happens with posting to another table.

    Thanks guys.

    EDIt:

    I tried Als' method again and this time it worked. I am now on my home unit with xp. The problem was on the Vista at work. Will try it again Monday to see if it was me or Vista??

    Hope my bug reprt does not slow down their stuff at Alpha


    .
    Last edited by DaveM; 05-22-2010 at 08:40 PM.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic G Gabriel's Avatar
    Real Name
    G. Gabriel
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    7,204

    Default Re: Post in field rules

    Unless it's a bug in v10, typically you highlight it and delete it.

  6. #6
    Member Ton Spies's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ton Spies
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Post in field rules

    Hi Dave,

    Has it something to do with a table in a set (or same table in more sets)?

    Ton
    Most things are simple but unfortunately only after the first time

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,024

    Default Re: Post in field rules

    Ton,

    It was one table in a set and it was supposed to post to another table in a set. Some how, it was giving an error that it could not post to the MAIN table in the set. It was never supposed topost to the main table. Regardless, it deleted ok in XP. I still have to retry it in Vista.


    Edit: Tried again on Vista machine - it worked. I must have done something wrong before??


    .
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

  8. #8
    Member Ton Spies's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ton Spies
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    555

    Default Re: Post in field rules

    Hi Dave,

    Difficult to say. Think you can't tell what you did.

    Fieldrules of tables in a set are a little complicated.
    You can change them in a set and also in a table.
    They just appear from the different perspectives.
    I know I have had troubles with a lookupfieldrule and I remember I removed the table from the set so I had only an 'unbound' table. Then I changed the fieldrules and recreated the set.

    I propose - however I am not sure - that fieldrules of tables in a set also are stored in one of the set files.

    Hope someone can confirm or just point to the exact way, how (easy) these things can be arranged.

    Ton
    Most things are simple but unfortunately only after the first time

Similar Threads

  1. Post date from oldest record & Field rules on import op
    By David Boomer in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 06:38 PM
  2. how to post back values - field rules
    By fddizon in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-21-2008, 01:23 AM
  3. Post Rules
    By SteveManton in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-27-2005, 12:06 PM
  4. how to set transaction field with field rules post
    By Dale Hartshorn in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-2000, 08:40 AM
  5. Field Rules - Post operations
    By DORaymond in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2000, 07:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •