Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: A little help and guidance - record export

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Greg Roy
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default A little help and guidance - record export

    Hello,

    I have a .dbf table with inventory records. I need to provide a way for a user to review and then export the records. I need to keep track of what records have been exported. I created a status field for that purpose.

    I am thinking a form with a embedded browse or just a browse to review and select individual records (and a select all option?) Then a way (script tied to a button) to run the export and update the status field.

    I am just learning Alpha Five, no scripting experience other than some Action Scripting.

    Am I looking at this correctly?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: A little help and guidance - record export

    Greg,
    Export to what format???? Several to choose from--excel, pdf, text,.... And also from where---the table, a default browse, a saved browse, a form, a report, etc......????

    Hmmm....just noticed you did state from possibly an embedded browse....
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Omar Garcia
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Alamo, Texas
    Posts
    582

    Default Re: A little help and guidance - record export

    You'll probably want to set some field as logical and when the user is viewing the browse you can display it as a check box; The user checks the box 'on' and when done you can export all those 'true' records, then update your existing status column as exported and clear the marked records using an update.

    So you'll want to build you operation to export data as you need it with the condition to export only those records marked as exportable.

    Create a second operation to update the marked records as exported (perhaps a timestamp) and clear the record as exportable.

    From the form/browse you can set a button to perform the operations.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Greg Roy
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: A little help and guidance - record export

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
    Greg,
    Export to what format???? Several to choose from--excel, pdf, text,.... And also from where---the table, a default browse, a saved browse, a form, a report, etc......????

    Hmmm....just noticed you did state from possibly an embedded browse....
    Oops, export to Excel. And, from a form or a browse. Not sure what is correct/best.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: A little help and guidance - record export

    Here you go Greg....a small example using action script. I created 2 fields for the child table called Tag and Status. I used 2 saved operations that run off of the Export button which are filtered for the logical Tag field. I used the ADO export...the AlphaDAO is more powerful, but is a bit more involved to use.

    Extract to a separate project and open up the Demo2 form....

    Attachment 24853


    PS: if you had uploaded your project, I would have used your actual tables and such....maybe something for you to consider doing next time....I had this example already open from someone else so is not completely specific for you.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Greg Roy
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: A little help and guidance - record export

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
    Here you go Greg....a small example using action script. I created 2 fields for the child table called Tag and Status. I used 2 saved operations that run off of the Export button which are filtered for the logical Tag field. I used the ADO export...the AlphaDAO is more powerful, but is a bit more involved to use.

    Extract to a separate project and open up the Demo2 form....

    Attachment 24853


    PS: if you had uploaded your project, I would have used your actual tables and such....maybe something for you to consider doing next time....I had this example already open from someone else so is not completely specific for you.
    Thanks Mike. Really appreciated. I am going to fire it up now. Did not even think bout attaching the table.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Greg Roy
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: A little help and guidance - record export

    Mike, Thank you. It helped me. I was close but your example made it easier. One last question... I would like to add a button or check box on the form to do a "Select All" in the browse. Any pointers?



    Quote Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
    Here you go Greg....a small example using action script. I created 2 fields for the child table called Tag and Status. I used 2 saved operations that run off of the Export button which are filtered for the logical Tag field. I used the ADO export...the AlphaDAO is more powerful, but is a bit more involved to use.

    Extract to a separate project and open up the Demo2 form....

    Attachment 24853


    PS: if you had uploaded your project, I would have used your actual tables and such....maybe something for you to consider doing next time....I had this example already open from someone else so is not completely specific for you.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: A little help and guidance - record export

    Greg,
    Easiest way for you would be to use an operation maybe--an Update one am thinking that would set your Select field to True for every record....as this uses a table method you most likely will also have to do a topparent.resynch() afterwards so that your form/browse will reflect the changes.

    Usually I see something like this called from a button but I see from your screen shot that you may be wanting this to happen via a logical checkbox....using the OnArrive of the form and the OnChange event of the Select All Checkbox, the operation could be called based upon whether the checkbox is True or False....
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Greg Roy
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: A little help and guidance - record export

    First, Thank you very much for your help. I really do appreciate it. I am going with a button. I was thinking check-box....but have decided against it.

    Again. Thank you.

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
    Greg,
    Easiest way for you would be to use an operation maybe--an Update one am thinking that would set your Select field to True for every record....as this uses a table method you most likely will also have to do a topparent.resynch() afterwards so that your form/browse will reflect the changes.

    Usually I see something like this called from a button but I see from your screen shot that you may be wanting this to happen via a logical checkbox....using the OnArrive of the form and the OnChange event of the Select All Checkbox, the operation could be called based upon whether the checkbox is True or False....

Similar Threads

  1. A little guidance
    By steve745 in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 05:07 PM
  2. Guidance needed- copy record
    By vinyltap in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 06-01-2006, 12:18 PM
  3. SET export current record
    By Joseph Claeys in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-09-2004, 01:40 PM
  4. Export current record
    By dparkins in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-01-2004, 05:10 AM
  5. AlphaFive export each record as HTML page
    By Denny Johnson in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2002, 02:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •