Alpha Video Training

Thread: A little help and guidance - record export

Real Name
    Greg Roy

Default A little help and guidance - record export

Hello,

I have a .dbf table with inventory records. I need to provide a way for a user to review and then export the records. I need to keep track of what records have been exported. I created a status field for that purpose.

I am thinking a form with a embedded browse or just a browse to review and select individual records (and a select all option?) Then a way (script tied to a button) to run the export and update the status field.

I am just learning Alpha Five, no scripting experience other than some Action Scripting.

Am I looking at this correctly?

Thanks

"Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen

Default Re: A little help and guidance - record export

Greg,
    Export to what format???? Several to choose from--excel, pdf, text,.... And also from where---the table, a default browse, a saved browse, a form, a report, etc......????

Hmmm....just noticed you did state from possibly an embedded browse....
    Mike

Real Name
    Omar Garcia

You'll probably want to set some field as logical and when the user is viewing the browse you can display it as a check box; The user checks the box 'on' and when done you can export all those 'true' records, then update your existing status column as exported and clear the marked records using an update.

So you'll want to build you operation to export data as you need it with the condition to export only those records marked as exportable.

Create a second operation to update the marked records as exported (perhaps a timestamp) and clear the record as exportable.

From the form/browse you can set a button to perform the operations.

Real Name
    Greg Roy

Quote Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
    Greg,