Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

  1. #1
    Member René Stout's Avatar
    Real Name
    René Stout
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tiendeveen, The Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    529

    Default Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Hello,

    I am setting up a system that includes e-payment. I have to transfer data to a banking site. That requires a SHA-1 hash computation. They say you need a dll-file for that that resides on the server. Has anyome experience with this stuff? Did someone integrate the SHA-1 computation in A5?
    René
    Windows 7, V11

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Here are some instructions from my vast storehouse of information (Google) on how to download and install the File Checksum Integrity Verifier (FCIV) utility.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/841290/
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  3. #3
    Member René Stout's Avatar
    Real Name
    René Stout
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tiendeveen, The Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    529

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Hi Steve,

    Thanks. I cannot use this programm. It computes a hash (SHA) value for a file. What I need is the SHA-1 hash for a string that is generated in A5.
    I'm looking further...
    René
    Windows 7, V11

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,699

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    a5_encrypt_string() allows you to specify the encryption algorithm to use. Alpha does not ship the SHA-1 algorithm, but it uses OpenSSL to perform the encryption. To enable additional algorithms, replace libeay32.dll in the Alpha program folder with copies which have been compiled to support the desired algorithms.

    Lenny Forziati
    Vice President, Internet Products and Technical Services
    Alpha Software Corporation

  5. #5
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,632

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Hmm, I'm looking for the same functionality today, either SHA1 or SHA256. Lenny - I don't know what to do or how to follow through on your suggestion.

    Another way for me to ask for help here is whether anyone's ever used A5 to calculate a signature for Amazon.com. Seems like this would have some lasting value if anyone's got it figure out.
    -Steve


  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Andrew Schone
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,047

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Go here
    http://www.openssl.org/related/binaries.html

    Click the link that takes you to Shining Light Productions
    Click the link to download "Win32 OpenSSL v1.0.0".

    Scan for viruses

    Double click the download file to install.

    I took the defaults in my test run. The installer created a directory "C:\OpenSSL-Win32". When I browsed this directory I had a file called "libeay32.dll"

    Backup the libeay32.dll file in your alpha5 executable directory. Copy "C:\OpenSSL-Win32\libeay32.dll" to your Alpha5 executable directory.

    Continue with Lenny's steps outlined in his post.

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,632

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Thanks Andrew, I'll give that a run.
    -Steve


  8. #8
    Member René Stout's Avatar
    Real Name
    René Stout
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tiendeveen, The Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    529

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Thanks Andrew,
    me too.
    René
    Windows 7, V11

  9. #9
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,632

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Well, I finally got around to doing this. After installing the file as described below, I get this message when I try to start V10:

    The ordinal 354 could not be located in the dynamic link library LIBEAY32.dll


    And A5 won't load.

    Now what?

    René: did you have any luck? If you did, will you send me your .dll to steve@workings.com ? Or Andrew, could you send me a file that works?
    -Steve


  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Andrew Schone
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,047

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Workings View Post

    Now what?

    René: did you have any luck? If you did, will you send me your .dll to steve@workings.com ? Or Andrew, could you send me a file that works?
    I only looked for a newer version of the .dll. I did not actually test it with Alpha5.

    I think at this point Alpha5 needs to look into this and provide some info as to what you need to do.

  11. #11
    Member René Stout's Avatar
    Real Name
    René Stout
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tiendeveen, The Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    529

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    I did not put energy in it, yet. I am a complete dummy in this field.

    I have these links for you:
    General info on SHA at W3.org:
    http://www.w3.org/PICS/DSig/SHA1_1_0.html

    .NET/SHA1:
    http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...a1managed.aspx

    PHP/SHA1:
    http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.mhash.php
    René
    Windows 7, V11

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Joel Lustigman
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Hi Rend I have the same issue now have you found a solution ?

    Thanks Joel Lustigman

  13. #13
    Member René Stout's Avatar
    Real Name
    René Stout
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tiendeveen, The Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    529

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Quote Originally Posted by joellustigman View Post
    Hi René I have the same issue now have you found a solution ?

    Thanks Joel Lustigman
    Hi Joel,

    No solution yet. Did not search either, I don't need it in the near future.
    René
    Windows 7, V11

  14. #14
    Member René Stout's Avatar
    Real Name
    René Stout
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tiendeveen, The Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    529

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Workings View Post
    Well, I finally got around to doing this. After installing the file as described below, I get this message when I try to start V10:

    The ordinal 354 could not be located in the dynamic link library LIBEAY32.dll


    And A5 won't load.

    Now what?

    René: did you have any luck? If you did, will you send me your .dll to steve@workings.com ? Or Andrew, could you send me a file that works?
    Hi Steve,

    Did you find a solution to this challenge? If so, please tell me about it!
    René
    Windows 7, V11

  15. #15
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,632

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    René - I've sent you a PM.
    -Steve


  16. #16
    Member René Stout's Avatar
    Real Name
    René Stout
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tiendeveen, The Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    529

    Default Re: Computing SHA-1 Hash for e-banking

    Quote Originally Posted by joellustigman View Post
    Hi Rend I have the same issue now have you found a solution ?

    Thanks Joel Lustigman
    I found a Java Script that calculates the SHA-1. This is the link.
    René
    Windows 7, V11

Similar Threads

  1. Error 1 while computing lookup???
    By frankbicknell in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 04:49 PM
  2. IDEAL Banking Payment method
    By René Stout in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2010, 07:30 AM
  3. With a view to portable computing
    By Bob Whitaker in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2005, 05:13 AM
  4. Directory hash
    By Pat Bremkamp in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-25-2004, 08:09 AM
  5. Computing Average in Rpt Summary
    By Eric Johnson in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-21-2003, 05:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •