Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Trying to modify Sales by Item report

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry Hooker
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Trying to modify Sales by Item report

    I am trying to modify the "SalesByItemDetail" so that I can include the some of the Vendor information (i.e. Name of the vendor associated with the Item detail). I am adding in QRptBldr's "SalesByItemDetail" the field entitled "Item" and deleting the fields "Blank," "RunningBalance," "Quantity," "Text," "Txntype," and "UnitPrice". I filtering on the DateFrom, DateTo, and ItemFilterFullNames fields. I have tried to add the following tables - "Bill," or "Billexpenseline" ... My report preview shows the data from the "SalesByItemDetail" data but I don't get any data from my link to either of the two tables I try to add ...
    Do you have any suggestions? Thank you in advance for your assistance with this ... Larry

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,620

    Default Re: Trying to modify Sales by Item report

    Larry

    Sounds like a linkage problem.

    Send the report definition (with data) to me directly
    (QRB homepage - SHARE - export a report definition - pick report - then pick def and data.

    alb@bookwood.com
    Last edited by Al Buchholz; 07-01-2010 at 06:07 PM.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry Hooker
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6

    Smile Re: Trying to modify Sales by Item report

    Ok ... Should be there now ... Thank you!

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,620

    Default Re: Trying to modify Sales by Item report

    Larry

    The memo field that you had in the child linkage should have been the expenselineitemmemo. But you data doesn't support a 1 to 1 linkage because of their values. It's very difficult to link on user supplied free form data rather that data that is edited and obligated to be consistent.

    You'll need to find another linkage that makes sense. It's hard to link an item to an expense account. Does your item table have the expense account number in it so you could cross reference the item and GL account?
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Sales Rep Report
    By lindsay972 in forum QReportBuilder
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 06:59 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 12:05 PM
  3. Problem customizing Sales by Item Summary report
    By hmalib in forum QReportBuilder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 03:24 PM
  4. modify a report
    By Camille Venners in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2003, 10:25 AM
  5. Sales Tax Report
    By Jules Klapper in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-06-2001, 11:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •