Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: "a5_add_new_user()" problem

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default "a5_add_new_user()" problem

    Need a sanity check here pls. I am trying to use function "a5_add_new_user()" but having issues. I get a "ERROR: Argument is incorrect data type" when I try this in both a grid function and the interactive window.

    I have deleted all the security tables and security settings files a couple of times JIC and re-enabled web security in a5 after the delete. I have turned off the user ID validation and set the password min. length to 1, etc. I put a master password on the database per the documentation.

    I am able to create users fine using the web security dialog - but I need to be able to do it in code.

    Here's a sample of the code for the interactive window (based on wiki example plus I added alltrim() based on some posts about extra spaces causing issues):

    ? a5_add_new_user(alltrim("password"),alltrim("user1"),alltrim("password1"))

    In the code completion, the "Groups" list shows as an optional parameter. On the wiki, it's not an optional parameter. Any which way, it's not working.

    Heeelllppp...

  2. #2
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,172

    Default Re: "a5_add_new_user()" problem

    "a5_add_new_user()" is used only for the desktop security system. A desktop application security system and the web security system are completely different and do not share anything between each other. You may want to reference these help links

    Adding Users with a Web Component

    a5ws_Save_WebUser_Values()

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: "a5_add_new_user()" problem

    Thx Jerry. Looks like "a5ws_Save_WebUser_Values" is just what I need.

Similar Threads

  1. "Field Display Formatting" is Lost when "Pre-fetch data for Detailed View = Active"
    By PhillipS in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 11:02 PM
  2. form.view("fName","","","center","center")
    By reynolditpi in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 12:37 AM
  3. To "zoom to record" or to "open form" using action scripting, that is the question.
    By georgefurnel in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-18-2008, 07:32 PM
  4. "Add" and "Save" buttons don't stay on "Self" page
    By Scholin in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 08:50 AM
  5. Problem with "file.temp_create("C:"
    By Nathan White in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-31-2000, 05:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •